LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Fall of the Western Roman Empire

Багерман А.Я.

Attention! The text below was auto-translated from Russian. You can switch the site language to Russian to see the text in its original language or wait until it is fully translated.

The fall of the Western Roman Empire (fall of the Roman Empire, fall of Rome) is a protracted process of decline of the Western Roman Empire, as a result of which the state was unable to manage its vast territory and ceased to exist. In 410, Rome was taken by the Visigoths, and on September 4, 476, the German leader Odoacer forced the last emperor of the Western Roman Empire, Romulus Augustus, to abdicate. Thus ended the centuries-old rule of Rome.

Division of the Empire between the sons of Theodosius

Background

In 395, shortly before his death, Emperor Theodosius I (reigned 347-395) divided the previously unified Roman Empire into two parts: the Eastern Roman Empire with its capital in Constantinople (also known as the Roman Empire, or as it will be called much later - the Byzantine Empire, which lasted until 1453) and the Western Roman Empire with its capital in Mediolana (modern Milan), and later in Ravenna (from 402), which lasted until 476. Both parts of the empire were ruled by Theodosius I's sons, Arcadius and Honorius.

In the East, the first emperor was Flavius Arcadius Augustus (reigned 395-408), and in the West, the first emperor was Flavius Augustus Honorius (395-423). The two parts of the former Roman Empire were competing and feuding with each other, in addition, barbarian tribes increased the pressure on them, especially in the Western part of the empire, which was caused by the Great Migration of peoples that began. The power of the emperors in the West was increasingly weakened after the crisis of the third century.

The Great Migration of peoples is a mass movement of barbarian European tribes from north to south, to the borders of the Roman Empire. It took place in the IV-VII centuries. In Europe, and as a result, the Western Roman Empire fell to the barbarians in particular. The beginning of the Great Migration of peoples is considered to be the invasion of nomadic tribes of the Huns from the east in the middle of the IV century.

Stilicho and his wife Serena. Detail of the diptych, Monza Cathedral. 5th century AD
Ivory diptych of the Consul Anicius Petronius Probus with the image of the Emperor Honorius. From the Cathedral of Aosta, Italy, A detail of the Emperor and an inscription with an inscription in the nomination of Christy Winkas Semper. Aosta, Museo del Tesoro (Art Museum). Beginning of the 5th century.
Portrait of Aetius and his wife. Relief on a Roman sarcophagus from the 5th century AD.

Major events leading up to the fall of the Western Roman Empire

Due to the weakening of the emperor's power and the increasing pressure of Western barbarians, the Empire began to gradually decline in trade, economy, crafts and cities.

The infant emperor of the Western Roman Empire, Romulus Augustus, was deposed in 476. The title of emperor, however, was still claimed by Julius Nepos.
Profile of Odoacer on a coin from Ravenna. 477 A.D.
Solidus of Valentinus III. 5th century AD

The last glimmer of hope for the Western Roman Empire was the short-lived reign of Emperor Flavius Julius Majorian (he ruled in April 457-August 461), who was able to win back part of Spain and part of Gaul for Rome, but was overthrown and killed in 461 by the barbarian general Ricimer. The decline of the Western Roman Empire continued again, and by the mid-460s, only Italy remained under Roman rule.

Thomas Kohle. Painting "The Fall of the Roman Empire". 1841
Odoacer's ambassadors hand over symbols of the Western Emperor's power to the Byzantine Emperor Zeno
Painting " The Sack of Rome by vandals”

Fall of the Western Roman Empire

Finally, the Western Roman Empire fell in 476, when the German commander Odoacer deprived the last Roman emperor Romulus Augustus of power, and sent the symbols of his power – the purple cloak and diadem – to the emperor of the Eastern Roman Empire Zeno (reigned in 474-491). Odoacer founded his own barbarian kingdom in Italy.

Emperor Zeno of the Eastern Roman Empire, in response to the symbols of power received from Italy by the Western Roman Emperor, granted Odoacer to the patricians and recognized him as the Roman governor of Italy, although he actually remained an independent ruler.

In modern historical science, the events of 476 are considered the end of the era of Antiquity and the beginning of the next historical period-the era of the Middle Ages.

Reasons for the Fall of the Western Roman Empire:

1. Economic: desolation of the economy, inefficiency of slave labor;

2. Political: the weakening of the power of the Roman emperors;

3. Foreign policy: the increasing barbarian onslaught on the empire's borders;

4. Climate: climate change towards aridity and cold.

The reasons for the fall of the Western Roman Empire are still debated in scientific circles. On the ruins of the Western Roman Empire, barbarian kingdoms emerged, from which many modern European states were eventually formed. The decline continued after the fall of the Western Roman Empire, with the Senate ceasing to exist by 630.

Europe and the Mediterranean in 476

Related topics

The Roman Empire, The Emperors of Rome

LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again

Падение Западной Римской Империи

Багерман А.Я.

Падение Западной Римской империи (падение Римской Империи, падение Рима) — затяжной процесс упадка Западной Римской империи, в результате которого государство оказалось неспособно управлять своей огромной территорией и прекратило существование. В 410 году вестготами был взят Рим, а 4 сентября 476 года вождь германцев Одоакр заставил последнего императора Западной Римской империи Ромула Августа отречься от престола. Таким образом завершилось многовековое владычество Рима.

Разделение Империи между сыновьями Феодосия

Предыстория

В 395 г. незадолго до своей смерти император Феодосий I (правил в 347-395 гг.) разделил до этого единую Римскую империю на две части: Восточную Римскую империю со столицей в Константинополе (она же Ромейская империя, или как ее назовут значительно позже - Византийская, просуществовала до 1453 г.) и Западную Римскую империю со столицей в Медиолане (современный Милан), а позже в Равенне (с 402 г.), она просуществовала до 476 г. Обеими частями империи правили сыновья Феодосия I – Аркадий и Гонорий.

На Востоке первым императором стал Флавий Аркадий Август (правил в 395-408 гг.), а на Западе первым императором стал Флавий Август Гонорий (395-423 гг.). Две части бывшей Римской империи соперничали и враждовали друг с другом, кроме того на них усилили натиск варварские племена, особенно на Западную часть империи, что было вызвано начавшимся Великим переселением народов. Власть императоров на Западе всё больше ослабевала после кризиса III века.

Великое переселение народов – это массовое перемещение варварских европейских племен с севера на юг, к границам Римской империи. Оно происходило в IV-VII вв. в Европе и в результате под ударами варваров в частности пала Западная Римская империя. Началом Великого переселения народов считается вторжение кочевых племен гуннов с востока в середине IV столетия.

Стилихон и его жена Серена. Деталь диптиха, собор в Монце. 5-ый век н.э
Слоновая кость диптих консула Anicius Petronius Probus с изображением императора Гонория. Из собора Аосты, Италия, Деталь императора и надписи с надписью в номинации Кристи Винкас Земпер. Аоста, Музей дель Тесоро (Художественный музей). Начало V века.
Портрет Аэция с супругой. Рельеф на римском саркофаге 5-го века н.э.

Основные события, приведшие к падению Западной Римской империи

Вследствии ослабления власти императора и усиливающегося давления западных варваров в Империи начался постепенный упадок торговли, хозяйства, ремесла и городов.

Малолетний император Западной Римской империи Ромул Август был низложен в 476 году. На титул императора, однако, продолжал претендовать Юлий Непот.
Профиль Одоакра на монете из Равенны. 477 год н.э.
Солид Валентинина III-го. 5-ый век н.э.

Последним проблеском надежды для Западной Римской империи стало недолгое правление императора Флавия Юлия Майориана (он правил в апреле 457- августе 461 гг.), который смог отвоевать обратно для Рима часть Испании и часть Галлии, но был свергнут и убит в 461 г. варварским военачальником Рицимером. Упадок Западной Римской империи вновь продолжился и к середине 460-х годов во власти Рима осталась только одна Италия.

Томас Коле. Картина “Падение Римской империи”. 1841 г.
Послы Одоакра передают императору Византии Зенону символы власти императора Запада
Картина “Разграбление Рима вандалами”

Падение Западной Римской империи

Окончательно Западная Римская империя пала в 476 г., когда германский военачальник Одоакр лишил власти последнего Римского императора Ромула Августа, а символы его власти – пурпурный плащ и диадему – отослал императору Восточной Римской империи Зенону (правил в 474 - 491 гг.). Одоакр основал на территории Италии собственное варварское королевство.

Император Восточной Римской империи Зенон в ответ на полученные из Италии символы власти Западного Римского императора пожаловал Одоакра в патриции и признал римским наместником Италии, хотя тот фактически оставался независимым правителем.

В современной исторической науке события 476 г. считаются концом эпохи Античности и началом отсчёта следующего исторического периода – эпохи Средних веков.

Причины падения Западной Римской империи:

1. Экономические: запустение хозяйства, неэффективность труда рабов;

2. Политические: ослабление власти римских императоров;

3. Внешнеполитические: усиливающийся натиск варваров на границы империи;

4. Климатические: изменение климата в сторону засушливости и холода.

О причинах падения Западной Римской империи в научных кругах спорят до сих пор. На развалинах Западной Римской империи возникли варварские королевства, из которых со временем образовались многие современные европейские государства. Упадок продолжился и после падения Западной Римской империи: так, сенат прекратил свое существование к 630 году.

Европа и Средиземноморье в 476 году

Схожие темы

Римская Империя, Императоры Рима