LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Archery technique

Линьков С. И.

Attention! The text below was auto-translated from Russian. You can switch the site language to Russian to see the text in its original language or wait until it is fully translated.

The bow is an effective weapon, but useless in unskilled hands. In ancient times, the training of military archers was a long and difficult task, shooting required considerable skill and technique. As a result, the evolution of both the bows themselves and the equipment of archers was directly related to the shooting techniques, of which 3 are the most popular:

Mediterranean shooting technique

The Mediterranean grip is the most famous method used by most modern archers. An arrow with a Mediterranean grip is placed to the left of the bow (for a right-handed person; with a reverse grip, on the contrary, to the right). It is very important to accurately fit the arrows to the spine (stiffness). This is due to the peculiarities of the mechanics of the shot, the so-called archer's paradox: when released, the arrow bends and, if it is on the right, it hits the handle of the bow. In principle, there are ways to extinguish this effect, but such variants of the technique are used extremely rarely, since there is no special need for this. Buttocks can be different – from the classic one in the chin to the far ones-to the ear or shoulder, but the most commonly used buttocks to the face are in different versions. The reason for such a wide distribution of the Mediterranean grip should be considered its simplicity and stability. It leaves relatively little room for error, and the methods of training and shooting sports bows in this way are perfectly developed.

Ring shooting technique

The second most common type is the Mongolian grip, also known as the ring grip. In fact, this is also a whole group of grips that differ in the location of the fingers and the shape of the safety devices. The ring grip was widespread in Asia. This is how traditional competitions were shot in Japan, Korea, China, the steppe zone of Eurasia, Central and Central Asia, India, the Middle East, and North Africa.

Burial of Pisarevka. Second half of the 1st — beginning of the 2nd century AD

Rings are made of bone, horn, stone, metal, or leather, but it is technically possible to shoot without a ring. Kraga (hand protection) is not required in most cases. This method is convenient when shooting from a horse and is "sharpened" under the Asian short recurve bow, which, when shooting with other grips, can squeeze the fingers of the pulling hand. However, with long bows, this technique can also be used. An arrow with a Mongolian grip is usually placed to the right of the bow, although technically you can put it on the left. Long buttocks are used – to the ear, the corner of the lower jaw, to the right shoulder. Accordingly, the bow should extend to a large length – at least 30-32 inches, often up to 34. The adjustment of arrows to stiffness is not so important; many shooters prefer to take the most rigid arrows. Of the advantages of the ring grip, it is necessary to name, first of all, adaptability for working with short bows, for shooting from a horse, undemanding to fit equipment and clean release. The latter is explained by the fact that only one finger touches the bowstring, which creates a minimum of interference when the bowstring comes off. However, in general, the technique of shooting with a ring is somewhat more complicated than the classical one, and the training methods are not sufficiently developed.

Scheme of application of the ring with a ring grip
Types of buttocks with a ring grip
Ring from the archer's grave. Private collection. 1-3 century AD

Plucked shooting technique

The plucked grip is a group of the most ancient methods of shooting that existed all over the world, and are now recorded mainly by ethnographers among peoples who have preserved the traditions of archery. Shoot these grips usually without protectors, "with bare fingers", even if the bows are strong enough. Depending on the position of the fingers on the bowstring, the arrow can lie to the right or left of the bow. Buttocks are also available in a wide range. The weak point of plucked grips is that they give room for variations in holding, different finger play, and the associated release instability. However, with a good performance, they give a result that is not inferior to the Mediterranean and ring. The "pinch" method gives a very clean release. In general, this group of grips is poorly understood, and training methods are not worked out.

Related topics

Sagittarius, Sagittarius-Gladiator, Onion, Arrows

Gallery

Ring from the archer's grave. Private collection. 1-3 century AD
Ring from the archer's grave. Private collection. 1-3 century AD
Ring from the archer's grave. Private collection. 1-3 century AD
Bas-relief of a male archer, Parthian. Found in: Asia, Middle East, Levant, Syria. Stored at: British Museum, London, England. 1-3 century AD
Ring grip. Archer Heracles, a figure from the eastern pediment of the temple of Athena-Athaia (Greek).VAός αφαίας). 490-480 BC Greece
Ring grip. Archer Heracles, a figure from the eastern pediment of the temple of Athena-Athaia (Greek).Ναός Αφαίας). A plaster copy. 490-480 BC Greece
Ring grip. Archer Heracles, a figure from the eastern pediment of the temple of Athena-Athaia (Greek).VAός αφαίας). 490-480 BC Greece
Parthian horse archer. State Museum of Islamic Art in Berlin, Germany. 1-3 century AD
The Gallic archer. Saint-Germain-en-Laye, France. 1-2 century AD
The ring of the 20th Legion. Private collection, possibly fake. 1-3 century AD
The ring of the 20th Legion. Private collection. Probably a fake. 1-3 century AD

LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again

Техника стрельбы из лука

Линьков С. И.

Лук — эффективное оружие, но бесполезное в неумелых руках. В античности обучение военных лучников было долгим и непростым занятием, стрельба требовала немалого мастерства и техники. В результате эволюция как самих луков, так и снаряжения лучников, была напрямую связана с техниками стрельбы, из которых можно выделить 3 наиболее популярные:

Средиземноморская техника стрельбы

Средиземноморский хват — самый знаменитый способ, которым пользуется большинство современных лучников. Стрела при средиземноморском хвате располагается слева от лука (у правши; при обратном хвате, напротив, справа). Очень важна точная подгонка стрел по спайну (жёсткости). Это объясняется особенностями механики выстрела, так называемым парадоксом лучника: при выпуске стрела изгибается и, если находится справа, то ударяется о рукоять лука. В принципе, существуют способы погасить этот эффект, но такие варианты техники используются крайне редко, так как в этом нет особой надобности. Прикладки возможны различные – от классической в подбородок до дальних – к уху или плечу, но наиболее употребительны прикладки к лицу в разных вариантах. Причиной столь широкого распространения средиземноморского хвата следует считать его простоту и стабильность. Он оставляет сравнительно мало простора для ошибок, а методики обучения и стрельбы из спортивных луков этим способом отлично отработаны.

Колечная техника стрельбы

Второй по распространённости — монгольский хват, он же колечный. На самом деле, это также целая группа хватов, отличающихся расположением пальцев и формой предохранительных приспособлений. Колечный хват был широко распространен в Азии. Так стреляли и стреляют на традиционных состязаниях в Японии, Корее, Китае, степной полосе Евразии, Средней и Центральной Азии, в Индии и на Ближнем Востоке, в Северной Африке.

Погребение Писаревки. Вторая половина 1-го — начало 2-го века н. э.

Кольца изготавливают из кости, рога, камня, металла или кожи, но технически возможно стрелять и без кольца. Крага (защита руки) в большинстве случаев не требуется. Этот способ удобен при стрельбе с коня и «заточен» под азиатский короткий рекурсивный лук, который при стрельбе другими хватами может сжимать пальцы тянущей руки. Однако с длинными луками такую технику тоже можно использовать. Стрела при монгольском хвате обычно располагается справа от лука, хотя технически можно класть её и слева. Используются дальние прикладки – к уху, углу нижней челюсти, к правому плечу. Соответственно, лук должен тянуться на большую длину – не менее 30-32 дюймов, часто до 34. Подгонка стрел по жёсткости не играет такой важной роли; многие стрелки предпочитают брать максимально жёсткие стрелы. Из преимуществ колечного хвата следует назвать, в первую очередь, приспособленность для работы с короткими луками, для стрельбы с коня, нетребовательность к подгонке снаряжения и чистый выпуск. Последнее объясняется тем, что с тетивой соприкасается только один палец, который создает минимум помех при сходе тетивы. Однако в целом техника стрельбы с кольцом несколько сложнее классической, а методики обучения отработаны недостаточно.

Схема применения кольца при колечном хвате
Виды прикладок при колечном хвате
Кольцо из захоронения лучника. Частная коллекция. 1-3 век н.э.

Щипковая техника стрельбы

Щипковый хват — это группа наиболее древних способов стрельбы, бытовавших по всему миру, а сейчас фиксируемых в основном этнографами у народов, сохранивших традиции стрельбы из лука. Стреляют этими хватами обычно без протекторов, «с голых пальцев», даже если луки достаточно сильные. В зависимости от расположения пальцев на тетиве, стрела может лежать, справа или слева от лука. Прикладки — также в широком диапазоне. Слабым местом щипковых хватов является то, что они дают простор для вариативности удержания, различной игры пальцами и связанной с этим нестабильности выпуска. Однако при хорошем исполнении они дают результат, не уступающий средиземноморскому и колечному. «Щипковый» способ даёт очень чистый выпуск. В целом эта группа хватов плохо изучена, а методики обучения не отработаны.

Схожие темы

Сагиттарий, Сагиттарий - гладиатор, Лук, Стрелы

Галерея

Кольцо из захоронения лучника. Частная коллекция. 1-3 век н.э.
Кольцо из захоронения лучника. Частная коллекция. 1-3 век н.э.
Кольцо из захоронения лучника. Частная коллекция. 1-3 век н.э.
Барельеф мужчины-лучника, парфянин. Найден: Азия, Ближний Восток, Левант, Сирия. Храниться: Британский Музей, Лондон, Англия. 1-3 век н. э.
Колечный хват. Лучник Геракл, фигура с восточного фронтона храма Афины-Афайи (греч.Ναός Αφαίας). 490-480 до н.э. Греция
Колечный хват. Лучник Геракл, фигура с восточного фронтона храма Афины-Афайи (греч.Ναός Αφαίας). Гипсовая копия. 490-480 до н.э. Греция
Колечный хват. Лучник Геракл, фигура с восточного фронтона храма Афины-Афайи (греч.Ναός Αφαίας). 490-480 до н.э. Греция
Парфянский конный лучник. Государственных музей исламского искусства в Берлине, Германия. 1-3 век н.э.
Галльский лучник. Сен-Жермен-ан-Ле, Франция. 1-2 век н. э.
Кольцо 20-го легиона. Частная коллекция, возможно подделка. 1-3 век н.э.
Кольцо 20-го легиона. Частная коллекция. Возможно подделка. 1-3 век н.э.