LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Dominant

Attention! The text below was auto-translated from Russian. You can switch the site language to Russian to see the text in its original language or wait until it is fully translated.

Dominatus was a form of government in ancient Rome that replaced the principate and was established by the Emperor Diocletian (284-305). The dominant includes the period of tetrarchy.

Tetrarchy (Greek: τετραρχία — tetrarchy) is the name of a political regime in which the supreme power is divided between four people (tetrarchs, tetrarchs). As a rule, the tetrarchy is the system of government of the Roman Empire, introduced by the Emperor Diocletian in 293 and continued until 313. Its introduction was allowed toThe crisis of the Roman Empire of the 3rd century.

The word "dominant" usually refers to the period of the history of Ancient Rome from the 3rd to the 5th century AD. This period can also be called "late antiquity"or" late empire". The term "dominat" comes from the usual address to the emperor at that time — Dominus et deus noster sic fueri iubet (literally "lord and god" - Lat. dominus et deus). It was the first time Domitian had called himself that.

Map of the Roman Empire of the Dominant era

If at the end of the 1st century such a claim of the emperor was met with hostility by the Romans, then at the end of the 3rd century the term dominus was perceived by society quite calmly. The word dominus can also be translated into Russian as "sovereign".

The dominatum was the next phase of the gradual transformation of the Roman Republic into an absolute monarchy - with unlimited power of the emperor. During the period of the principate, the old republican institutions were preserved and formally continued to function, and the head of state — the princeps ("first") - was considered only the first citizen of the republic.

During the dominant period, the Roman Senate is transformed into an estate with decorative functions. The main title of the head of state, instead of " princeps "("first") and" emperor", becomes " Augustus "(Augustus — "sacred") and" domin "(Dominus — "master", which meant that all others are his subjects, being in relation to him in the position of subordinate sons or slaves).

Bust of Diocletian, 3rd-4th century AD

The founder of the dominant system is usually considered to be the Emperor Diocletian. Diocletian established in his retinue customs borrowed from the East. The main center of power was the domin-centered bureaucracy. The committee responsible for collecting taxes was called the committee of " sacred (i.e., imperial) bounties "(sacrarum largitionum). The emperor made laws, appointed officials at all levels and many army officers, and, until the end of the 4th century, held the title of head of the College of pontiffs.

Despite the growing power of the emperor and the even greater sacralization of his power, some Republican traditions continued to exist. Thus, there were still such old republican magistracies as consuls and praetors-although they were only honorary titles in late antiquity. The traditions of Roman popular assemblies continued to exist in the army (Roman army contiones), with which the emperors were forced to reckon.

An important detail that does not allow us to call the dominant regime a classical monarchy was the fact that the principle of hereditary power was not fully established in Rome. Belonging to a ruling dynasty was quite an important argument in the struggle for power, but it was not a mandatory characteristic of the applicant, and the emperors, in order to ensure the legal transfer of power to their descendants, appointed them as their formal co-rulers in childhood.

Related topics

The Roman Empire, Principate

Literature

Gaius Suetonius Tranquillus. Domitian, 13 / / Life of the Twelve Caesars, Moscow: Nauka Publ., 1964, p. 217, 376 p. (Literary monuments). — 50,000 copies.

LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again

Доминат

Доминат (лат. dominatus — господство) — форма правления в Древнем Риме, пришедшая на смену принципату и установленная императором Диоклетианом (284—305 годы). В доминат включают период тетрархии.

Тетрархия (греч. τετραρχία — четырёхвластие) — название политического режима, при котором верховная власть разделена между четырьмя людьми (тетрархами, четверовластниками). Как правило, тетрархией называется система управления Римской империей, введённая императором Диоклетианом в 293 году и продолжавшаяся до 313 года. Её введением был разрешён Кризис Римской империи 3-го века.

Словом «доминат» обычно обозначают период истории Древнего Рима с 3-го по 5-ый век нашей эры. Также этот период может называться «поздней античностью» или «поздней империей». Термин «доминат» происходит от обычного для того времени обращения к императору — Dominus et deus noster sic fueri iubet (буквально «господин и бог» — лат. dominus et deus). Впервые так себя назвал Домициан.

Карта Римской Империи эпохи домината

Если в конце 1-го века подобная претензия императора была встречена римлянами достаточно враждебно, то в конце 3-го века термин dominus был воспринят обществом довольно спокойно. Слово dominus также может переводиться на русский язык как «государь».

Доминат стал следующей фазой постепенной трансформации Римской республики в абсолютную монархию — с неограниченной властью императора. В период принципата старые республиканские институты сохранялись и формально продолжали функционировать, а глава государства — принцепс («первый») — считался лишь первым гражданином республики.

В период домината римский сенат превращается в сословие с декоративными функциями. Основным титулом главы государства вместо «принцепс» («первый») и «император» становится «август» (Augustus — «священный») и «домин» (Dominus — «господин», что подразумевало, что все остальные являются его подданными, оказываясь по отношению к нему на положении подвластных сыновей или рабов).

Бюст Диоклетиана, 3-4 век н.э.

Основоположником системы домината обычно считается император Диоклетиан. Диоклетиан установил в своей свите обычаи, позаимствованные с Востока. Основным центром власти стал бюрократический аппарат, ориентированный на личность домина. Комитет, ведавший сбором налогов, при этом назывался комитетом «священных (то есть императорских) щедрот» (sacrarum largitionum). Император издавал законы, назначал чиновников всех уровней и многих офицеров армии, и, вплоть до конца 4-го века, носил титул главы коллегии понтификов.

Несмотря на усиление власти императора и ещё большей сакрализации его власти, продолжали существовать некоторые республиканские традиции. Так, все ещё существовали такие старые республиканские магистратуры, как консулы и преторы — правда, являвшиеся в поздней античности лишь почётными титулами. Традиции римских народных собраний продолжали существовать в армии (римские армейские contiones), с которой императоры были вынуждены считаться.

Важной деталью, не позволяющей назвать режим домината классической монархией, являлось то, что принцип наследственности власти до конца так и не утвердился в Риме. Принадлежность к правящей династии была довольно важным аргументом в борьбе за власть, но не являлась обязательной характеристикой претендента, а императоры, чтобы обеспечить законную передачу власти своим потомкам, назначали их своими формальными соправителями ещё в детстве.

Схожие темы

Римская Империя, Принципат

Литература

Гай Светоний Транквилл. Домициан, 13 // Жизнь двенадцати цезарей. — М.:: "Наука", 1964. — С. 217. — 376 с. — (Литературные памятники). — 50 000 экз.