LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Principate

Attention! The text below was auto-translated from Russian. You can switch the site language to Russian to see the text in its original language or wait until it is fully translated.

Principate (Latin: principatus, from princeps — the first senator; senator who opens a meeting) is a term in modern historical literature that denotes the form of government that developed in Ancient Rome during the early Empire (27 BC-284 AD), which combined monarchical and republican features. Holders of the highest authority were often referred to as princeps, which emphasized their status not as an autocratic monarch, but as "first among equals".

In historiography, the title "emperor" was fixed, although the head of state had the main powers as a people's tribune and princeps.

The principal system began to be formed when Augustus, whose power was based on the connection of various magistracies. Augustus and his successors, being princeps of the Senate, simultaneously concentrated in their hands the highest civil (lifelong tribune of the people) and military power. Formally, the republican system continued to exist: senate, comitia, magistracies. However, all these institutions lost their former political influence, as their elections and activities were regulated by the princeps. Real power was concentrated in the hands of the Princeps Emperor and those close to him, his personal office, whose staff was constantly growing, and the scope of activity expanded.

The principate was replaced by the dominant, in which the monarchical features are much more clearly visible, and the republican institutions were mostly abolished, some were reorganized into monarchical ones.

Copy of the statue of Augustus from Prima Porta. The last quarter of the 1st century BC (20-17 BC)

Main stages of the Principate era:

The emergence of the principate was preceded, as distinguished by Professor A. B. Egorov of St. Petersburg State University, by one of the great systemic crises in ancient Roman history — the era of the civil wars of 133-31 BC. Professor V. S. Sergeev of Moscow State University noted that the first decades of the principate for the entire Roman world were characterized by a revival in all areas of economic and cultural life. As E. D. Frolov notes, the creators of the principate sought to restore the significance of traditional pagan Roman cults, whose authority in the II—I centuries BC was greatly shaken. The term "principate" in the historical literature corresponds to the term "early empire", which is considered more accurate.

Related topics

The Roman Empire, Dominant, Octavian Augustus, The Senate, Comments

LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again

Принципат

Принципат (лат. principatus, от princeps — первый сенатор; сенатор, открывающий заседание) — термин в современной исторической литературе, обозначающий сложившуюся в Древнем Риме форму правления в период ранней Империи (27 год до нашей эры — 284 год нашей эры), совмещавшую в себе монархические и республиканские черты. Обладатели высшей власти часто именовались титулом принцепс, что подчеркивало их статус не монарха-самодержца, а "первого среди равных".

В историографии закрепился титул «император», хотя основные полномочия глава государства имел как народный трибун и принцепс.

Система принципата стала оформляться при Августе, власть которого основывалась на соединении различных магистратур. Август и его преемники, будучи принцепсами сената, одновременно сосредоточивали в своих руках высшую гражданскую (пожизненный народный трибун) и военную власть. Формально продолжало существовать республиканское устройство: сенат, комиции, магистратуры. Тем не менее, все эти институты утратили прежнее политическое влияние, так как выборы в них и их деятельность регулировались принцепсом. Реальная власть была сосредоточена в руках принцепса-императора и близких к нему людей, его личной канцелярии, штат которой непрерывно рос, а сфера деятельности расширялась.

На смену принципату пришел доминат, в котором монархические черты видны гораздо более явственно, а республиканские институты большей частью упразднены, некоторые реорганизованы в монархические.

Копия статуи Августа из Примы Порты. Последняя четверть 1 в. до. н.э. (20-17 гг. до н.э.)

Основные этапы эпохи принципата:

Возникновению принципата предшествовал, как выделяет его проф. СПбГУ А. Б. Егоров, один из больших системных кризисов в древнеримской истории — эпоха гражданских войн 133—31 годов до н. э. Профессор МГУ В. С. Сергеев отмечал, что первые десятилетия принципата для всего римского мира характеризовались оживлением во всех областях экономической и культурной жизни. Как отмечает Э. Д. Фролов, создатели принципата стремились восстановить значение традиционных языческих римских культов, авторитет которых во II—I веках до н. э. сильно пошатнулся. Термину «принципат» в исторической литературе соответствует термин «ранняя империя», который считается более точным.

Схожие темы

Римская Империя, Доминат, Октавиан Август, Сенат, Комиции