LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Late Roma

This section contains useful literature related to the Late Rome reenactment

Main branches of Late Rome reenactment:

Dominate-era hastatus
Dominate-era sagittarius
Dominate-era civilian

Recommended literature in this field

In Russian:

Roman Army in the 4th century from Constantine to Theodosius. Bannikov Street. 2011

This book covers the development of late Roman military system. Its formation, which lasted more than half a century and completed in the reign of Emperor Constantine I (306-337) and his sons; its modification, which lasted until the reign of Theodosius I, when the army gained the ability not only to fight on equal terms with any enemy, but to defeat them; the rapid and irreversible barbarization of the army — the most striking symptom of impending degradation and decline of the late Roman military system. This book will be useful both for specialists in ancient history and military affairs of antiquity and anyone interested in the history of Ancient Rome.

In English:

Armies of the Late Roman Empire

This book covers the time period since the reign of Diocletian to the collapse of the Western Roman Empire. The author challenges many stereotypes about the late Roman army, in particular, he advocates the theory that the Roman army remained a reliable and effective military machine until the last decades of Western Rome. The author describes the organization, equipment, structure, tactics, weaponry and military history of the Dominate-era Roman army.

The Spatha The Roman Long Sword by M.C. Bishop

A small but very informative monograph by Mike Bishop, a British archaeologist, publicist and weapon expert, dedicated to the spatha - the Roman long sword, originally a weapon of the Roman auxiliary cavalry, which later became a universal sword of entire Roman army. In this book you will learn about the evolution of this sword, its manufacture, archaeological finds and its legacy in history.

Military History of Late Rome 284-361

This book focuses on military history of Rome since the Tetrarchy to the reign of Constantius II, a period of profound transformations of the Roman military machine in an era of increasing threats both from migrations of Germanic peoples to the borders of the empire and aggression from the Persians. The author describes the numerous wars of the considered era, pays a lot of attention to not only the history of Rome itself at that time, but also of its enemies and neighbours, to the global balance of power, and much more. The author also analyzes the evolution of tactics and strategies of the Roman army and presents some bold conclusions.

LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Поздний Рим - литература

Этот раздел посвящен полезным литературным материалам, касающимся направления Поздний Рим.

Основные реконструкторские образы направления:

Гастат домината
Сагиттарий домината
Жительница Империи эпохи домината

Рекомендуемая литература по направлению

На русском языке:

Римская Армия в 4 веке от Константина до Феодосия. Банников. 2011

В книге рассматриваются этапы развития позднеримской военной системы… Ее формирование, длившееся более полувека и завершенное в правление императора Константина I (306–337 гг.) и его сыновей; ее модификации, продолжавшиеся вплоть до правления Феодосия I, в результате которых армия обрела способность не только на равных бороться с любым противником, но и одерживать над ним верх; стремительная и необратимая варваризация армии — самый яркий признак надвигавшейся деградации и упадка позднеримской военной системы.Для специалистов по античной истории и военному делу древности и всех интересующихся историей Древнего Рима.

На английском языке:

Armies of the Late Roman Empire

В этой книге рассмотрен временной период, начиная с правления Диоклетиана и заканчивая распадом Западной Римской империи. Автор оспаривает множество стереотипов насчет армии позднего Рима, в частности, он придерживается теории, согласно которой римская армия оставалась надежной и эффективной военной машиной вплоть до последних десятилетий Западного Рима. Автор описывает организацию, экипировку, структуру, тактику, вооружение и боевой путь римской армии времен домината.

The Spatha The Roman Long Sword by M.C. Bishop

Небольшая, но весьма информативная монография Майка Бишопа, британского археолога, публициста и оружеведа, посвященная спате - римскому длинному мечу, изначально оружию римской вспомогательной кавалерии, впоследствии ставшему единым типом меча для всей римской армии. Из этой книги вы узнаете о эволюции меча, способах его изготовления, археологических находках и том наследии, которое спата оставила в истории.

Military History of Late Rome 284-361

Эта книга посвящена военной истории Рима от времен Тетрархии до Констанция II, периоду глубинных трансформаций римской военной машины в эпоху нарастающей угрозы как миграций германских народов к границам империи, так и агрессии со стороны Персидской державы. Автор подробно освещает многочисленные войны рассматриваемого исторического отрезка, уделяет много внимания рассказу не только о самом Риме тех лет, но и о его врагах и соседях, о глобальной расстановке сил тогдашней Ойкумены и многом другом. Также автор анализирует эволюцию тактики и стратегии римской армии и представляет вниманию читателя ряд смелых заключений, в частности, о том, когда, в какой мере и по каким причинам получила свое развитие римская кавалерия.