LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Peplos

Attention! The text below was auto-translated from Russian. You can switch the site language to Russian to see the text in its original language or wait until it is fully translated.

Peplos, peplon or peplum (other Greek: πέπλος, πέπλον, Lat. peplum, literally "cover" — - ancient Greek women's outerwear made of thin fabric, without sleeves, worn over a tunic. Peplum is longer than the chiton, with a large number of folds; the right side is not sewn, in turn, the unstitched edges of the fabric are trimmed with a border.

Roman women wore peplos until the 2nd century BC, when it was replaced by the fashionable palla , a female garment shaped like a square or rectangular blanket, sometimes decorated with embroidery. Similar clothing was worn by the Celts, but from fabrics of different weaving and colors.

Peplos wearing scheme

Peplos from the ancient Greeks

In Homer, the word peplos refers to a long, ground-reaching garment that was worn over the naked body and left one side open. The hands also remained open, which is why Greek women were called "white-handed" (Greek: λευκώλενοι). Peplos fabric was usually of bright colors: saffron, bright red, and mixed colors are mentioned (Greek: ποικίλος πέπλος, "variegated peplos"); peplos were often decorated with embroidery. The necessary accessory of the peplos was a belt (Greek :ννη).

The removed peplos served as bedding for the seats and chariots; the purple peplos was wrapped around the golden urn containing Hector's ashes. In the post-Homeric era, peplos continued to exist, but was decorated with oriental luxury, against which there were sometimes protests from legislators. A radical change in fashion occurred, according to Herodotus, in the middle of the VI century BC, when Ionian styles came into use. The evidence of Herodotus is confirmed by the ceramics found: on vases with black figures (archaic style) peplos — ordinary clothes, on vases from the transitional era (mid-VI century BC). e.) archaic clothing is found in conjunction with Ionian clothing; on vases with red figures, archaic peplos is no longer found.

In the new era (from the fifth century BC), the word peplos lost its original meaning and began to mean clothing in general; only when referring to the clothing of heroes, gods and singers on the stage, as well as the goddess Athena, the archaic meaning of the word remained. The peplos of the goddess Athena was annually carried in a solemn procession through the city to the temple of the goddess during the Panathenas; like a sail, it was attached to the masts of the sacred ship and displayed to all the people. Under the guidance of priestesses of the goddess, special weavers worked on its production, and for a whole year they decorated their clothes with a patterned pattern depicting the battle of the gods with giants, in which Athena herself participated.

Terracotta figurine of a Greek woman in Peplos. 6th-5th century BC

Peplos from the Celts

In antiquity, clothing like peplos was common among all the peoples of Europe. The Celts, who lived in a more severe climate, sewed peplos only from wool, coarser and warmer. The actual Celtic name of this type of clothing has not been preserved, however, a dress was found that corresponds to the design of the Greek peplos-this dress is from Huldremose, Denmark (Huldremose). Its length is 168 cm, and its width (half-girth) is 132 cm. The Huldremos dress was woven in the form of a tube that wrapped around the woman's body and was pinned at the shoulders with two fibulas. Excess wide fabric gathered on the chest, forming a kind of neck that does not put pressure on the neck, and also hung down on the sides, without restricting the movement of the hands.

Celtic peplos from Haldremos. Denmark, National Museum of Denmark. 350-30 BC
Celtic peplos from Haldremos. Denmark, National Museum of Denmark. 350-30 BC
Celtic peplos from Haldremos. Denmark, National Museum of Denmark. 350-30 BC

Related topics

Ancient Greece, Women in Ancient Rome, The Celts, Palla

LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again

Пеплос

Пеплос, пеплон или пеплум (др.греч. πέπλος, πέπλον, лат. peplum, буквально «покров») — древнегреческая женская верхняя одежда из тонкой ткани, без рукавов, надевавшаяся поверх туники. Пеплум длиннее хитона, с большим количеством складок; правая сторона не сшита, в свою очередь несшитые кромки ткани отделаны каймой.

Римлянки носили пеплос до 2-го века до н.э., когда его заменила вошедшая в моду палла — женское одеяние, имевшее форму квадратного или прямоугольного пледа, иногда украшенное вышивкой. Схожую одежду носили кельты, но из тканей другого плетения и расцветок.

Схема ношения пеплоса

Пеплос у древних греков

У Гомера слово пеплос обозначает длинную, достигавшую земли одежду, надевавшуюся на голое тело и оставлявшую один бок открытым. Руки также оставались открытыми, отчего гречанок стали называть "белорукими" (греч. λευκώλενοι). Ткань пеплоса обыкновенно была ярких цветов: упоминаются шафрановый, ярко-красный и смешанные цвета (греч. ποικίλος πέπλος, «пёстрый пеплос»); нередко пеплос украшали вышивками. Необходимой принадлежностью пеплоса был пояс (греч. ζώνη).

Снятый пеплос служил подстилкой на сиденьях и колесницах; в пурпурный пеплос была завёрнута золотая урна с прахом Гектора. В послегомеровскую эпоху пеплос продолжал существовать, но украшался с восточной роскошью, против которой иногда раздавались протесты со стороны законодателей. Радикальная перемена моды произошла, по Геродоту, в середине VI века до н. э., когда вошли в употребление ионийские фасоны. Свидетельство Геродота подтверждается найденной керамикой: на вазах с чёрными фигурами (архаический стиль) пеплос — обычная одежда, на вазах из переходной эпохи (середина VI века до н. э.) архаическая одежда встречается в соединении с ионийской, на вазах с красными фигурами архаический пеплос уже не попадается.

В новую эпоху (с V века до н. э.) слово пеплос утратило своё первоначальное значение и стало означать одежду вообще; лишь при упоминаниях одежды героев, богов и певцов на сцене, а также богини Афины сохранилось архаическое значение слова. Пеплос богини Афины ежегодно в торжественной процессии провозился по всему городу в храм богини во время Панафиней; подобно парусу, он прикреплялся к мачтам священного корабля и выставлялся напоказ всему народу. Над его изготовлением трудились под руководством жриц богини особые ткачихи, в течение целого года украшая одежду узорным рисунком, изображавшим битву богов с гигантами, в которой участвовала сама Афина.

Терракотовая статуэтка гречанки в пеплосе. 6-5 век до н.э.

Пеплос у кельтов

В античности одежда, подобная пеплосу, была распространена среди всех народов Европы. Кельты, жившие в более суровом климате, шили пеплосы только из шерсти, более грубой и тёплой. Собственно кельтского названия такого вида одежды не сохранилось, тем не менее найдено платье, по конструкции соответствующее греческому пеплосу — это платье из Хюлдремоса, Дания (Huldremose). Его длина составляет 168 см, а ширина (полуобхват) 132 см. Платье из Хюлдремоса было выткано в виде трубы, которая обхватывала тело женщины и закалывалась на плечах двумя фибулами. Излишки широкой ткани собирались на груди, образуя своеобразную горловину, не давящую на шею, а также свисали по бокам, не стесняя движения рук.

Кельтский пеплос из Халдремоса. Дания, Национальный музей Дании. 350-30 гг. до н. э.
Кельтский пеплос из Халдремоса. Дания, Национальный музей Дании. 350-30 гг. до н. э.
Кельтский пеплос из Халдремоса. Дания, Национальный музей Дании. 350-30 гг. до н. э.

Схожие темы

Древняя Греция, Женщины в Древнем Риме, Кельты, Палла