LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Palla

Attention! The text below was auto-translated from Russian. You can switch the site language to Russian to see the text in its original language or wait until it is fully translated.

Palla-an ancient Roman female cloak in the shape of a rectangle. Initially, the palla, like the Doric chiton, served as an undergarment, but during the early Roman Republic, the tunic became the lower garment , and the palla, sometimes decorated with embroidery, turned into a cape for ceremonial exits.

The palla was worn as follows: one end of it was thrown over the left shoulder, the middle part was wrapped around the back, and the other end was either thrown over the right shoulder or passed through the right arm from behind. At the same time, the hand remained free, and the end of the palla went down from the left hand to the legs. Palla could cover the head, especially often so worn during rituals, which gave a resemblance to a priestly toga. Sometimes the palla was fixed or decorated with fibulas or a belt.

The palla, being an analogue of the male toga, also began to go out of fashion during the Empire. In the third century, it was replaced by Dalmatian and Colobian. Palla could be found in the wardrobe of non-noble women, foreign women, freedmen and hetaerae. Matrons wore mostly tablecloths.

Statue of Libya praying. Marble. Rome, Vatican Museum of Pius Clement, Inv. no. 637. Second quarter of the 1st century AD
Libya. Marble. Paris, Louvre Museum. Inv. № Mr 260/ Ma 1245. Mid-1st century AD
Statue of sitting Livia. Rome, Museum of Roman Culture. Copy. Original in the National Archaeological Museum of Madrid, Spain. Early 1st century AD

Based on the many antique frescoes and paintings, it can be concluded that the pallas were painted in various colors of subdued brightness. The most common colors are pink, orange, blue, green, light green, and yellow.

Seeing off the Chryseis. Pompeii. 45-79 A.D.
Fresco from Pompeii. The surgeon's house. National Archaeological Museum of Naples (inv. 9018). 50-79 AD

Reconstruction

Palla is suitable for reconstructing almost all female images of ancient Rome. These can be commoners, hetaerae, priestesses, foreign women, freedmen. It is best to sew a palla made of fine wool or linen. It is possible to use thicker wool if you have a need to insulate yourself.

Resident of Rome in palle, reconstruction
Roman matron in Palla, reconstruction

Related topics

Tunic, Matrona, Fibula, Toga, Balteus, A woman in Ancient Rome

Literature

Palla // Encyclopedia of Brockhaus and Efron : in 86 volumes (82 volumes and 4 additions). - St. Petersburg, 1890-1907.

LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again

Палла

Палла — древнеримский женский плащ в форме прямоугольника. Изначально палла, как и дорический хитон, служила исподней одеждой, но во времена ранней Римской Республики нижней одеждой стала туника, а палла, иногда украшенная вышивкой, превратилась в накидку для торжественных выходов.

Палла надевалась следующим образом: один её конец накидывали на левое плечо, средней частью обматывали спину, а другой конец либо перебрасывали через правое плечо, либо продевали сзади через правую руку. При этом рука оставалась свободной, а конец паллы спускался с левой кисти руки к ногам. Палла могла покрывать голову, особенно часто так носили её во время обрядов, что придавало сходство со жреческой тогой. Иногда паллу закрепляли или украшали при помощи фибул или пояса.

Палла, будучи аналогом мужской тоги, во времена Империи точно также начала выходить из моды. В третьем веке она была заменена далматикой и колобием. Паллу можно было обнаружить в гардеробе незнатных женщин, иноземок, вольноотпущенниц и гетер. Матроны носили в основном столу.

Статуя молящейся Ливии. Мрамор. Рим, Ватиканский музей Пия-Климента. Инв.№637. Вторая четверть 1-го века н.э.
Ливия. Мрамор. Париж, Лувр. Инв. № Mr 260/ Ma 1245. Середина 1-го века н.э.
Статуя сидящей Ливии. Рим, Музей Римской Культуре. Копия. Оригинал в Мадридском национальном археологическом музее, Испания. Начало 1-го века н.э.

Основываясь на множестве античных фресок и картин можно сделать вывод, что паллы красили в различные цвета приглушённой яркости. Наиболее распространены розовые, оранжевые, синие, зелёные, салатовые и жёлтые оттенки.

Проводы Кризеиды. Помпеи. 45-79 год н.э.
Фреска из Помпей. Дом хирурга. Национальный археологический музей Неаполя (инв. 9018). 50-79 года н.э.

Реконструкция

Палла подойдет для реконструкции практически всех женских образов древнего Рима. Это могут быть простолюдинки, гетеры, жрицы, иноземки, вольноотпущенницы. Лучше всего сшить паллу из тонкой шерсти или льна. Возможно использовать шерсть толще, если у Вас возникла необходимость утеплиться.

Жительница Рима в палле, реконструкция
Римская матрона в палле, реконструкция

Схожие темы

Туника, Матрона, Фибула, Тога, Балтеус, Женщина в Древнем Риме

Литература

Палла // Энциклопедический словарь Брокгауза и Ефрона : в 86 т. (82 т. и 4 доп.). — СПб., 1890—1907.