LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Scutum

Шиманович А.А.

Attention! The text below was auto-translated from Russian. You can switch the site language to Russian to see the text in its original language or wait until it is fully translated.

Scutum (Latin: Scutum, plural: Scuta) – a type of growth or tower shield common in ancient times, used initially by some peoples of the Italian peninsula, and then from the 4th century BC — by the army of Ancient Rome. Initially, scutums were oblong oval in shape, but by the first century BC they acquired approximately the same appearance with which most of our contemporaries associate legionary shields-rectangular and semi-cylindrical. It is worth noting that the scutum was not the only shield used in the Roman army, there were several types of shields, each of which was used by different branches of the military, but it was the scutum that became the most famous, becoming a kind of symbol of Rome and its mighty legionnaires.

Legio X Fretensis legionnaires with scutums, reconstruction

History

Historians dealing with the appearance of scotoma on the weaponry of the Roman army, it is widely believed that the Romans began to use scutum during rejection gorlitsky phalanx in favour manipularnos tactics, entered into force in the period of the Samnite wars (mid – late IV century BC). Before the Roman soldiers used clypeus — round shields, similar to the earlier of the goplon, and allegedly during these wars, the Romans took over scutum from the Samnites.

This statement is based on the works of several ancient writers. However, the ancient Roman historian Titus Livy (54 BC - 17 AD) pointed out that oblong shields, as well as manipulative tactics, appeared at the beginning of the IV century BC, that is, before the Samnite wars. The ancient Greek writer and philosopher Plutarch (46-127 A.D.) mentioned in Comparative Biographies the use of a shield similar in description to the early scutum in the battle of 366 B.C. The French archaeologist P. Coussin argued that the scutum was used long before the Samnite Wars, and, accordingly, was not borrowed from the Samnites.

The image of an oval scutum can be found on the bas-reliefs of the altar of the general Gnaeus Domitius Ahenobarbus (d. 104 AD). A similar scutum was found in 1900 in the small Egyptian town of Qasr el-Harit, near the Fayum oasis on the banks of the Nile (Fayum scutum). By the beginning of the civil wars, the shape of the scutum changes, in parallel there are rectangular and barrel-shaped variants. Due to the imperfect depiction of skutums on bas-reliefs, it is impossible to say that either of these two forms predominate, so both options are allowed.

Fayum skutum. Late II-early I century BC Found in 1900 in the Fayum oasis near Qasr al-Harith. Cairo, Police Museum
Scutum of Dura-Evropos (3rd century AD) after restoration. Found in the 1930s near Dura Evropos. Stored in the Yale University Art Gallery

Scootums were mostly used by legionnaires. The Praetorians also had their own scutum, which retained its former oval shape, unlike the "combined arms" version. The officers of the legions, optiones and centurions, were presumably also armed with scutums, as indicated only by written sources: "Skaeva, who lost one eye, was wounded in the thigh and shoulder, with the scutum pierced (by arrows) in one hundred and twenty places, continued to hold the gates of the fortress, which were in his charge... "- this is a reference to the centurion Cassius Scaevus, whose feat at the Battle of Dyrrachia (48 AD) was recorded by Gaius Julius Caesar himself. This feat was later recounted by Gaius Suetonius Tranquillus. In addition, scootums were used by gladiators, sometimes in a shortened form — this option, for example, was used by provocateurs.

Sandstone relief (II century AD) depicting three legionnaires with scutums. Found in the castrum of Croy Hill, Val Antonina, Scotland. Kept at the National Museum of Scotland
Funeral stele of Gaius Valerius Crispa, legionnaire of Legio VIII Augusta. The end of the first century AD is found in Mattiakum (modern times). Wiesbaden, Germany)
Relief from the Trophy of Trajan in Adamklisi (109 AD), depicting the battle of a legionary and Dacians. The combat use of scutum is clearly visible. The original monument itself has not been preserved, it was reconstructed in 1977.

By the third century AD, the Scutum seems to have disappeared from service. Archaeological finds from the fortress of Dura Europos indicate the predominance of oval or round shields among the Romans in this time period, which were no longer semi-cylindrical, but convex or flat. The very word "scutum" survived the fall of the Roman Empire and was preserved in the military terminology of the Eastern Roman Empire. Even in the 11th century AD, the Romans referred to their heavy infantry as "Scutates" (Gr. σκυτατοί).

Structure of the scutum

Polybius, in his Universal History, describes Scutum as follows:"...Roman protection consists primarily of a shield (scutum), the convex surface of which is two and a half feet wide and four feet long, with a thickness on the rim equal to the width of the palm. It consists of two glued layers of wooden plates( planks), the outer surface of which is covered with canvas and calfskin. Its upper and lower rims are reinforced with iron edging, which protects it from bumps and damage when placed on the ground. It also has an iron shield (umbo) attached to it, which deflects the most terrifying blows from stones, spears, and heavy projectiles in general..." The description takes as an example the shield of the beginning of the II century BC.

Scutum structure from Dura-Evropos

Base

The production of the scutum base throughout its use in the Roman army remained almost unchanged: several (usually 9-10) wooden plates 6-10 cm wide were laid out longitudinally, and they were glued perpendicular with thinner plates on both sides (outside and inside the shield). This created a three-layer wooden base of the shield with a thickness of about 6 mm. Initially, the base was covered with felt, and then, by the time of the republic, a layer of calfskin and canvas, after which the upholstery around the edges was reinforced with an iron or bronze edging, sometimes leather. In the center, a round hole was cut for attaching the handle, covered with an umbon, originally made of wood and had a spindle-shaped shape, and during the republic — an iron or bronze rectangular umbon.

Structure of the Fayum skutum

Umbon

The umbon protected the legionnaire's arm by covering the hole in the central part of the scutum to which the handle was attached. Initially, on oval scutums, as already mentioned, the umbons were wooden, had the shape of a spindle and were attached vertically to the height of the entire shield. Apparently, in addition to directly protecting the legionnaire's arm, such umbons also increased the overall structural strength of the shield. An example of a fusiform umbon is clearly visible on the Fayum skutum.

By the time of the Republic, changing the shape of the shields to a rectangular one led to a change in the umbons. They began to be made of iron, bronze or brass, decreased in size, and acquired a round, rectangular, or hexagonal appearance. In the center of the umbon was a round convex part that covered the hole for the handle. Sometimes umbons could be decorated with coinage.

Decorated umbon Legio VIII Augusta. First half of the second century AD Found in Britain on the River Tyne. The British Museum
Round bronze umbon. Found in Kirkham, England. Kept in the British Museum

Edging

To increase the protective characteristics and increase the overall strength, the edges of the scooters were edged with iron, brass, or bronze. There was also a variant of leather edging (scutum from Dura-Evropos).

According to Polybius, early scutums were edged only at the top and bottom, to protect against upper blows and damage to the shield when it was placed on the ground, and the side edges remained uncoated. In the future, the shield was edged around the entire perimeter, which significantly increased the protective characteristics and allowed the scutum to withstand terrible chopping blows, such as those that could be inflicted by the falx (weapons of the Dacian and Thracian tribes). In addition, this made it possible to increase the overall wear resistance of the scutum and increase its operating time.

Bronze edging of the skutum. I century BC-I century AD Valchian Museum, Nijmegen
Iron edging of the scutum, first half of the first century AD Found in the Teutoburg forest. Stored in the Kalkrize Park Museum

Handle

In the very center of the scutum, covered with an umbon, was the hilt. Unlike many medieval shields, the handle of the scutum was mounted horizontally, and this arrangement was most convenient, given the overall structure of the shield. The handles were made of iron, mostly elongated cylindrical shape, flattened on the sides, where holes were punched in order to fix the handle with nails based on the shield. In earlier scutums, the handle could be the central part of a transverse rib fixed horizontally on the inner surface.

Finds from the Trimontium Fort at Newstead (I-II c. AD), the scutum hilt is visible on the lower left.
Outline of different variants of handles found at Hadrian's Wall (II century AD)

Tegimentum

Tegimentum (Lat. tegimentum - covering, shelter, shell) - a leather cover worn on the scutum during long transitions. It served for additional protection of the scutum from moisture in bad weather, thereby extending the service life of the shield. As a rule, it was made of cured calfskin. To the tegimentum, a tag was sewn separately cut out of leather-tabula ansata (Latin tablet with handles), indicating the legion to which the owner of the scutum belonged. It should also be noted that such a mark was also applied to the shield itself, if this was provided for by the legion's digma, and denoted the legion and cohort of the shield owner.

Tegimentum from the scutum of the legionnaire Legio XI Claudia Pia Fidelis. 70-100 AD Found in Vindonissa. Kept in the Vindonissa Museum
Tabula ansata in the center of the tegimentum Legio XI Claudia Pia Fidelis from Vindonissa
Tegimentum Legio X Fretensis, reconstruction. A tabula ansata is visible, indicating that it belongs to the legion-LEG X FRT

Combat use of Scutum

Taking into account the shape of the shield, the position of the handle, and the way the legionnaires carried their swords on the right side, we conclude that the scutum was held by the legionnaires in battle not in front of the chest, like most medieval shields, but along the left side, covering the body from knee to shoulder. This allowed the fighter to push the enemy in a tight formation leaning on the shield, and at the same time deliver quick stabbing blows with the sword from under the protection. According to Polybius, scutum gave the Romans an advantage in close combat with the Carthaginians during the Punic Wars: "Their weapons give them increased protection and confidence, due to their size shields".

The unique shape of the scutum allowed legionnaires to use it to create various battle formations designed to protect themselves from arrows and other projectiles both on the offensive and in defense. The most famous of these constructions is the "tortoise" (Latin Testudo), which uninformed people often refer to other Roman constructions, such as "Tela" or "Murus" (Latin Murus). Such formations were often used during Roman sieges, allowing legionaries to safely approach close to the city walls and fortifications, being almost completely protected from arrows and stones of the besieged.

Scutums in a tortoise shell on Trajan's column. First half of the second century AD

The Jewish historian Josephus writes about the use of scutum during the siege (37-100 AD). In his treatise "The Jewish War", he describes the siege of Jerusalem in 70 AD: "The Jews defended themselves from the height of the galleries and repeatedly repulsed attacks on the walls, but were still forced to retreat before hot shooting. Then the Romans arranged the so-called turtle, which consisted in the fact that the advanced soldiers firmly rested their shields against the walls, those who followed them rested their shields against the previous ones, and so on. The arrows that fell on this canopy glided along the surface without any effect: the soldiers could now completely safely dig through the wall and had already made preparations to set fire to the temple gate.".

Scutum Decoration

Skutums were often decorated: the so — called "digma" (Latin Digma) was applied to their fabric cover-a drawing depicting lightning bolts, wings, wreaths, and sometimes indicating the number and name of the unit. According to Tacitus, the digma could be used to identify a specific unit, since each legion or auxilia (auxiliary unit) had its own unique digma. Tacitus describes an incident that occurred during the second Battle of Bedriacus (69 AD), when two soldiers from Vespasian's legions took the digma shields of Vitellius ' hostile legions and sabotaged the enemy's rear by damaging their catapults.

It is also assumed that the surface of the skutum could be decorated with various overlays made of iron or bronze, which is confirmed by archaeological finds of bronze fragments imitating the shape of a digma.

Digma outline from Trajan's Column
Metal fragments in the form of lightning are interpreted as part of the decorated digma. First half of the first century AD Found in the Teutoburg forest. Stored in the Kalkrize Park Museum

Reconstruction

In the reconstruction, our legion uses barrel-shaped scootums, with a red base and a digma from the beginning of the second century. The skutum itself is made 106 cm high, the width of the central part is 60 cm, along the upper and lower edges - 50. The depth of the shield in the bend is 22 cm. Thickness - 6 mm. Umbon is iron, round or rectangular. Shields are edged with brass.

A legionnaire with a scutum from Trajan's column. The first half of the second century A.D. Clearly shows the digma used in Legio X Fretensis

The shield field is red, which corresponds to archaeological findings of shields from Masada, which was besieged by the Tenth Legion in 70-73 AD. The digma is yellow in color, a sample of it is presented on the column of Trajan (early II century AD). The digma depicts four wings symbolizing the messengers of Jupiter, carrying lightning and thunder to enemies, also depicted on the shield. Thunder is symbolized by the ornate columns that make up the central part of the digma composition.

Legionnaires of Legio X Fretensis in the Tela formation, the scutums used in the club are clearly visible
Drawing of the Legio X Fretensis club scooter

Related topics

Legionnaire, Hoplon, Clipeus, The Praetorian Guard, Centurion, Gladiator, The provocateur

Literature

Hilary & John Travis. Roman Shields: historical development and reconstruction. Amberley Publishing, Gloucestershire, GL5 4EP, 2014.

JAMES CURLE, F.S.A. SCOT., F.S.A. A Roman frontier post and it's people. The fort of Newstead in the Parish of Melrose. Glasgow, MDCCCCXI. Originally published by JAMES MACLEHOSE AND SONS for the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland.

Joseph Aviram, Gideon Foerster, Ehud Netzer, Guy D. Stiebel MASADA VIII. The Yigael Yadin Excavations 1963–1965. Final Reports. ISRAEL EXPLORATION SOCIETY. THE HEBREW UNIVERSITY OF JERUSALEM. JERUSALEM, 2007.

"The Arms and Armour from Dura-Europos, Syria : Weaponry Recovered from the Roman Garrison Town and the Sassanid Siegeworks during the Excavations, 1922-37". University College London (University of London).

Couissin P., Les armes romaines, pp. 224.

Josephus. "The Jewish War" / translated by Ya. L. Chertka in 1900, with an introduction and translator's note. Vekhi Library, 2004.

Livy Titus. Istoriya Rima ot osnovaniya goroda [History of Rome from the foundation of the city]. edited by M. L. Gasparov and G. S. Knabe, vol. I-III. Moscow, 2002

Polybius. Universal History, vol. I (books I-V), Moscow, 1890.

Gallery

Scutums in a turtle in the illustration "Maneuvers of the Roman Army" from the magazine "Nature and People", 1915.
Fayum skutum. Late II-early I century BC Found in 1900 in the Fayum oasis near Qasr al-Harith. Cairo, Police Museum
Early oval scutums on the bas-relief of the altar of Domitius Ahenobarbus. Found in Rome, Champ de Mars, Temple of Neptune
Scutum of Dura-Evropos before restoration. Found in the 1930s near Dura Evropos. Stored in the Yale University Art Gallery
Tabula ansata Legio X Fretensis, reconstruction
Decorated umbon Legio VIII Augusta. First half of the second century AD Found in Britain on the River Tyne. The British Museum
Round umbon made of brass, has remnants of gilding and silvering. III century AD Found presumably in the lower Danube region. Kept in the private collection of Axel Gutmann
Gilded image of the imperial eagle on a round umbon
Gilded image of the goddess Minerva on a round umbon

LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again

Скутум

Шиманович А.А.

Скутум (лат. Scutum, мн.ч. Scuta) – распространённый в античное время тип ростового или башенного щита, использовавшийся изначально некоторыми народностями италийского полуострова, а затем с 4 в. до н.э. — армией Древнего Рима. Изначально скутумы были продолговатой овальной формы, но уже к I в. до н.э. они приобрели примерно тот вид, с которым у большинства наших современников ассоциируются легионерские щиты — прямоугольный и полуциллиндрический. Стоит отметить, что скутум не был единственным щитом, использовавшимся в римской армии, щитов существовало несколько типов, каждый из которых использовался разными родами войск, однако именно скутум приобрёл наибольшую известность, став своеобразным символом Рима и его могучих легионеров.

Легионеры Legio X Fretensis со скутумами, реконструкция

История

Среди историков, рассматривающих появление скутума на вооружении римской армии, распространено мнение, что римляне начали использовать скутум в ходе отказа от гоплитской фаланги в пользу манипулярной тактики, введённой в войска в период Самнитских войн (середина – конец IV в. до н.э.). До того римские солдаты использовали клипеусы — круглые щиты, схожие с более ранними гоплонами, и якобы во время этих войн римляне переняли скутум от самнитов.

Это утверждение строится на основе работ нескольких античных писателей. Однако древнеримский историк Тит Ливий (54 г. до н.э. - 17 г.н.э.) указывал, что продолговатые щиты, как и манипулярная тактика, появились в начале IV в. до н.э., то есть до Самнитских войн. Древнегреческий писатель и философ Плутарх (46 - 127 г.н.э.) упоминал в «Сравнительных жизнеописаниях» об использовании щита, схожего по описанию с ранним скутумом, в битве 366 года до н.э. Французский археолог П. Коуссин утверждал, что скутум использовался задолго до Самнитских войн, и, соответственно, не был заимствован у самнитов.

Изображение овального скутума можно встретить на барельефах алтаря полководца Гнея Домиция Агенобарба (ум. 104 г.н.э.). Подобный скутум был найден в 1900 году в маленьком египетском городке Каср эль-Харит, неподалёку от Фаюмского оазиса на берегу Нила (Фаюмский скутум). К началу гражданских войн форма скутума меняется, параллельно существуют прямоугольный и бочкообразный варианты. Ввиду не совсем точного изображения скутумов на барельефах, невозможно утверждать о преобладании какой-либо из двух этих форм, поэтому допускается использование обоих вариантов.

Фаюмский скутум. Конец II - начало I в. до н.э. Найден в 1900 г. в Фаюмском оазисе недалеко от Каср аль-Харит. Каир, музей Полиции
Скутум из Дура-Эвропос (III в.н.э.) после реставрации. Найден в 1930-х близ Дура-Эвропос. Хранится в Арт-галерее Йельского университета

Скутумы использовались по большей части легионерами. У преторианцев также был свой скутум, который сохранил прежнюю овальную форму, в отличие от "общевойскового" варианта. Офицеры легионов, опционы и центурионы, предположительно также были вооружены скутумами, на что указывают лишь письменные источники: "Скаева, потерявший один глаз, раненный в бедро и плечо, со скутумом пробитым (стрелами) в ста двадцати местах, продолжил удерживать ворота крепости, находившиеся в его ведении..." — это упоминание о центурионе Кассии Скаеве, чей подвиг в битве при Диррахии (48 г.н.э.) записал сам Гай Юлий Цезарь. Позже этот подвиг был пересказан Гаем Светонием Транквиллом. Кроме того, скутумы использовались гладиаторами, порой в укороченном виде — такой вариант, например, использовали провокаторы.

Рельеф из песчаника (II в.н.э.) изображающих трёх легионеров со скутумами. Найден в каструме Крой Хилл, вал Антонина, Шотландия. Хранится в Национальном музее Шотландии
Похоронная стела Гая Валерия Криспы, легионера Legio VIII Augusta. Конец I в.н.э. Найден в Маттиакуме (совр. Висбаден, Германия)
Рельеф с Трофея Траяна в Адамклиси (109 г.н.э.), изображающий бой легионера и даков. Хорошо видно боевое применение скутума. Сам оригинальный монумент не сохранился, реконструирован в 1977 г.

К III в.н.э. скутумы, по всей видимости, исчезают из вооружения. Археологические находки из крепости Дура-Европос указывают на преобладание у римлян в данном временном периоде щитов овальной или круглой формы, которые уже были не полуциллиндрическими, а выпуклыми или плоскими. Само же слово «скутум» пережило падение Римской Империи и сохранилось в военной терминологии Восточной Римской Империи. Даже в XI в.н.э. ромеи именовали свою тяжёлую пехоту «скутатами» (гр. Σκυτατοί).

Строение скутума

Полибий в своей «Всеобщей истории» так описывает скутум: «...Римская защита состоит в первую очередь из щита (скутума), выпуклая поверхность которого имеет ширину два с половиной фута и длину четыре фута, при этом толщина на ободе равна ширине ладони. Он состоит из двух склееных слоёв деревянных пластинок (дощечек), внешняя поверхность которых покрыта холстом и телячьей кожей. Его верхний и нижний ободки усилены железной окантовкой, которая защищает его от ударов и повреждений при установке на землю. К нему также прикреплён железный щиток (umbo), который отворачивает самые страшные удары камней, копий и тяжелых снарядов в целом…». Описание берёт за пример щит начала II в. до н.э.

Строение скутума из Дура-Эвропос

Основа

Изготовление основы скутума на всём протяжении его применения в римской армии оставалось практически неизменным: несколько (как правило, 9-10) деревянных пластинок шириной 6-10 см раскладывали продольно, перпендикулярно они проклеивались более тонкими пластинками с обеих сторон (снаружи и внутри щита). Тем самым создавалась деревянная трёхслойная основа щита толщиной примерно в 6 мм. Изначально основа обтягивалась войлоком, а затем, ко времени республики, слоем телячьей кожи и холстом, после чего обивка по краям укреплялась окантовкой из железа или бронзы, иногда из кожи. В центре прорезалось круглое отверстие для крепления ручки, прикрывавшееся умбоном, изначально изготавливавшимся из дерева и имевшим веретенообразную форму, а во времена республики — железным или бронзовым прямоугольным умбоном.

Строение фаюмского скутума

Умбон

Умбон защищал руку легионера, прикрывая отверстие в центральной части скутума, к которому крепилась ручка. Изначально на овальных скутумах, как уже было упомянуто, умбоны были деревянными, имели форму веретена и крепились вертикально по высоте всего щита. Судя по всему, помимо непосредственной защиты руки легионера такие умбоны также увеличивали общую конструкционную прочность щита. Пример веретенообразного умбона хорошо виден на Фаюмском скутуме.

Ко времени Республики изменение формы щитов на прямоугольную повлекло за собой и изменение умбонов. Они стали изготавливаться из железа, бронзы или латуни, уменьшились в размере, и приобрели круглый, прямоугольный, или шестиугольный вид. В центре умбона имелась круглая выпуклая часть, прикрывавшая отверстие для ручки. Иногда умбоны могли украшать чеканкой.

Декорированный умбон Legio VIII Augusta. Первая половина II в.н.э. Найден в Британии на реке Тайн. Британский музей
Круглый бронзовый умбон. II в.н.э. Найден в Киркхеме, Англия. Хранится в Британском музее

Окантовка

Для увеличения защитных характеристик и повышения общей прочности края скутумов окантовывали железом, латунью, или бронзой. Существовал также вариант окантовки кожей (скутум из Дура-Эвропос).

Если верить Полибию, ранние скутумы окантовывались только сверху и снизу, для защиты от верхних ударов и от повреждения щита при постановке его на землю, а боковые края оставались неоконтованными. В дальнейшем окантовывать щит стали по всему периметру, что значительно увеличивало защитные характеристики и позволяло скутуму выдерживать страшные рубящие удары, какие, например, могли быть нанесены фальксом (оружие дакийских и фракийских плёмен). Кроме того, это позволяло увеличить общую износостойкость скутума и увеличить время его эксплуатации.

Бронзовая окантовка скутума. I в. до н.э. - I в.н.э. Музей Валькхов, Неймеген
Железная окантовка скутума, первая половина I в.н.э. Найдена в Тевтобургском лесу. Хранится в музее-парке Калькризе

Рукоять

В самом центре скутума, прикрытая умбоном, находилась рукоять. В отличии от многих средневековых щитов, рукоять скутума крепилась горизонтально, и такое расположение являлось наиболее удобным, учитывая общее строение щита. Рукояти изготавливались из железа, по большей части были вытянутой циллиндрической формы, сплюснутые по бокам, где пробивались отверстия для того, чтобы закрепить рукоять гвоздями на основе щита. У более ранних скутумов рукоятью могла служить центральная часть поперечного ребра, закреплённого горизонтально на внутренней поверхности.

Находки из форта Тримонтиум в Ньюстеде (I-II в.н.э.), слева внизу видна рукоять скутума.
Обрисовка разных вариантов рукоятей найденных у вала Адриана (II в.н.э.)

Тегиментум

Тегиментум (лат. tegimentum - покрытие, укрытие, оболочка) - кожаный чехол, надевавшийся на скутум во время длинных переходов. Служил для дополнительной защиты скутума от влаги в непогоду, тем самым продлевая срок эксплуатации щита. Как правило, изготавливался из выделанной телячьей кожи. К тегиментуму пришивали отдельно вырезанную из кожи бирку — tabula ansata (лат. табличка с ручками), указывавшую легион, к которому принадлежал владелец скутума. Отдельно стоит отметить, что такая метка наносилась и на сам щит, если это было предусмотрено дигмой легиона, и обозначала легион и когорту владельца щита.

Тегиментум со скутума легионера Legio XI Claudia Pia Fidelis. 70- 100 г. н.э. Найден в Виндониссе. Хранится в Музее Виндониссы
Tabula ansata в центре тегиментума Legio XI Claudia Pia Fidelis из Виндониссы
Тегиментум Legio X Fretensis, реконструкция. Видна tabula ansata, обозначающая принадлежность к легиону - LEG X FRT

Боевое применение скутума

Принимая во внимание форму щита, расположение ручки, способ ношения легионерами мечей на правом боку, мы делаем вывод, что скутум в бою удерживался легионерами не перед грудью, как большинство средневековых щитов, а вдоль левого бока, прикрывая тело от колена до плеча. Это позволло бойцу теснить противника в плотном строю налегая на щит, и при этом наносить быстрые колющие удары мечом из-под защиты. Согласно Полибию, скутум давал римлянам преимущество в ближнем бою с карфагенянами во времена Пунических войн: "Их оружие даёт им повышенную защиту и уверенность, в связи с размером их (римлян) щитов".

Уникальная форма скутума позволяла легионерам использовать его для создания различных боевых построений, предназначенных для защиты от стрел и иных снарядов как в наступлении, так и в обороне. Наиболее известным из таких построений является "черепаха" (лат. Testudo), которой неосведомлённые люди часто обозначают и другие римские построения, например "тела" (лат. Tela) или "мурус" (лат. Murus). Такие построения зачастую применялись при проведении римлянами осад, позволяя легионерам безопасно подходить вплотную к городским стенам и укреплениям, будучи практически полностью защищёнными от стрел и камней осаждённых.

Скутумы в черепахе на колонне Траяна. Первая половина II в.н.э.

О применении скутума во время осады пишет еврейский историк Иосиф Флавий (37 - 100 г.н.э.). В своём трактате "Иудейская война" он описывает осаду Иерусалима в 70 г.н.э.: "Иудеи защищались с высоты галерей и неоднократно отбивали атаки на стены, но вынуждены были всё-таки отступить перед горячей стрельбой. Тогда римляне устроили так называемую черепаху, состоявшую в том, что передовые солдаты крепко упирали свои щиты в стены, следовавшие за ними упирали свои щиты в предыдущие и т. д. Стрелы, падавшие на этот навес, скользили по поверхности без всякого действия: солдаты могли теперь совершенно спокойно подкопать стену и сделали уже приготовления к тому, чтобы поджечь храмовые ворота.".

Декорирование скутума

Скутумы часто декорировали: на их тканевое покрытие наносили так называемую "дигму" (лат. Digma) — рисунок, изображавший молнии, крылья, венки, а также иногда указывавший номер и название подразделения. С помощью дигмы можно было, если верить Тациту, идентифицировать конкретное подразделение, так как каждый легион или ауксилия (вспомогательное подразделение) имели свою уникальную дигму. Тацит описывает случай, произошедший во время второй битвы при Бедриаке (69 г.н.э.), когда два солдата из легионов Веспасиана взяли щиты с дигмами враждебных легионов Вителлия, и устроили диверсию в тылу, повредив вражеские катапульты.

Также предполагается, что поверхность скутумов могла украшаться различными накладками из железа или бронзы, что подтверждается археологическими находками бронзовых обломков, имитирующих своей формой дигму.

Обрисовка дигм с колонны Траяна
Металлические фрагменты в виде молнии, интерпретируются как часть украшенной дигмы. Первая половина I в.н.э. Найдены в Тевтобургском лесу. Хранятся в музее-парке Калькризе

Реконструкция

В реконструкции наш легион использует скутумы бочкообразной формы, с основой красного цвета и дигмой начала второго века. Сам скутум изготавливается высотой в 106 см, ширина центральной части - 60 см, по верхнему и нижнему краю - 50. Глубина щита в изгибе - 22 см. Толщина - 6 мм. Умбон железный, круглый или прямоугольный. Щиты окантовываются латунью.

Легионер со скутумом с колонны Траяна. Первая половина II в.н.э. Хорошо видна дигма, используемая в Legio X Fretensis

Поле щита — красного цвета, что соответствует археологическим находкам щитов из Масады, которую в 70-73 г.н.э. осаждал Десятый легион. Дигма жёлтого цвета, образец её представлен на колонне Траяна (начало II в.н.э.). На дигме изображены четыре крыла, символизирующие собой вестников Юпитера, несущих врагам молнии и гром, так же изображенные на щите. Гром символизируется витиеватыми столбцами, составляющими центральную часть композиции дигмы.

Легионеры Legio X Fretensis в формации Тэла, хорошо видны скутумы, применяемые в клубе
Чертеж клубного скутума Legio X Fretensis

Схожие темы

Легионер, Гоплон, Клипеус, Преторианец, Центурион, Гладиатор, Провокатор

Литература

Hilary & John Travis. Roman Shields: historical development and reconstruction. Amberley Publishing, Gloucestershire, GL5 4EP, 2014.

JAMES CURLE, F.S.A. SCOT., F.S.A. A Roman frontier post and it's people. The fort of Newstead in the Parish of Melrose. Glasgow, MDCCCCXI. Originally published by JAMES MACLEHOSE AND SONS for the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland.

Joseph Aviram, Gideon Foerster, Ehud Netzer, Guy D. Stiebel MASADA VIII. The Yigael Yadin Excavations 1963–1965. Final Reports. ISRAEL EXPLORATION SOCIETY. THE HEBREW UNIVERSITY OF JERUSALEM. JERUSALEM, 2007.

"The Arms and Armour from Dura-Europos, Syria : Weaponry Recovered from the Roman Garrison Town and the Sassanid Siegeworks during the Excavations, 1922-37". University College London (University of London).

Couissin P., Les armes romaines, pp. 224.

Иосиф Флавий. "Иудейская война" / перевод Я. Л. Чертка 1900 г., с введением и примечанием переводчика. Библиотека «Вехи», 2004.

Ливий Тит. История Рима от основания города / Пер. с лат. под ред. М. Л. Гаспарова и Г. С. Кнабе, т. I-III. М., 2002

Полибий. Всеобщая история. Т. I (кн. I—V). М., 1890.

Галерея

Скутумы в черепахе на иллюстрации "Манёвры Римской армии" из журнала "Природа и люди", 1915г.
Фаюмский скутум. Конец II - начало I в. до н.э. Найден в 1900 г. в Фаюмском оазисе недалеко от Каср аль-Харит. Каир, музей Полиции
Ранние овальные скутумы на барельефе алтаря Домиция Агенобарба. Найден в Риме, Марсово поле, храм Нептуна
Скутум из Дура-Эвропос до реставрации. III в.н.э. Найден в 1930-х близ Дура-Эвропос. Хранится в Арт-галерее Йельского университета
Tabula ansata Legio X Fretensis, реконструкция
Декорированный умбон Legio VIII Augusta. Первая половина II в.н.э. Найден в Британии на реке Тайн. Британский музей
Круглый умбон из латуни, имеет остатки позолоты и серебрения. III в.н.э. Найден предположительно в нижней области Дуная. Хранится в частной коллекции Акселя Гутманна
Позолоченное изображение имперского орла на круглом умбоне
Позолоченное изображение богини Минервы на круглом умбоне