LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Option

Attention! The text below was auto-translated from Russian. You can switch the site language to Russian to see the text in its original language or wait until it is fully translated.

Option or option (from Lat. Optio-free choice) — a military rank in the ancient Roman army, corresponding to junior officers. He was an assistant to the centurion, and in the event of his injury or death, he could temporarily perform his duties.

The main attribute of the option was the incentive-a long staff that served the same function as the centurion's vitis: it beat poorly trained legionnaires and trimmed the formation. The stimulus was a wooden stick with a small extension or metal tip at the end of it. Otherwise, the appearance of the option was no different from the usual legionnaire.

Tombstone of Publius Aelius Mestrius, an option from Legio II Adiutrix. Found in Óbuda, Hungary. Kept in the National Museum of Hungary, Budapest, 117-138 AD.
Tombstone of Caecilius Avitus, an option member of the XX Legion based in Chester. 1-2 century AD
Tombstone stele of Monianus Capito, an optionist who served in a small galley or libourne called Aurata. Mid-1st century AD

Optiones were experienced and well-established soldiers. At first, the optiones were appointed by the legion's top officers, and later the centurions themselves began to choose their deputies. The total number of permanent options was equivalent to the number of centurions-59-60. Most of them were later promoted to become centurions. In addition to regular (combat) options, there were also options that performed administrative duties. For example, the patient option (optio valetudinarii), the ship option (optio navaliorum), the guard option (optio custodiarum), and so on.

Optiones ' duties included keeping records, training soldiers, and keeping order in the legion as a whole and in the ranks during combat encounters.

Option, reconstruction

Related topics

Centurion, Legionnaire, Vitis

Gallery

Tomb stele of an unknown option who was supposed to be promoted to centurion but died in a shipwreck. Chester.
Tombstone stele of Monianus Capito, an optionist who served in a small galley or libourne called Aurata. Mid-1st century AD

LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again

Опцион

Оптион или опцион (от лат. Optio — свободный выбор) — военное звание в древнеримской армии, соответствующее младшему офицерскому составу. Являлся помощником центуриона, и в случае его ранения или смерти мог временно исполнять его обязанности.

Главным атрибутом опциона был стимул — длинный жезл, выполнявший ту же функцию, что и центурионский витис: им опцион бил плохо обученных легионеров и подравнивал строй. Стимул представлял собой деревянную палку, на конце которой было небольшое уширение или металлический наконечник. В остальном же внешний вид опциона ничем не отличался от обычного легионера.

Надгробие Publius Aelius Mestrius, опциону из Legio II Adiutrix. Найден в Óbuda, Венгрия. Хранится в национальном музее Венгрии, Будапешт. 117-138 года н.э.
Надгробие Caecilius Avitus, опциона из XX legion, базирующегося в Честера (Chester). 1-2 век н.э.
Надгробная стела Monianus Capito, опциону, который служил в небольшой камбузе или либурне под названием Aurata. Середина 1-го века н.э.

Оптионами становились опытные и хорошо зарекомендовавшие солдаты. Поначалу опционы назначались высшими офицерами легиона, а позже сами центурионы стали выбирать себе заместителей. Общее число постоянных опционов было эквивалентно числу центурионов — 59-60. Большинство из них в последствии продвигались по службе, становясь центурионами. Помимо регулярных (боевых) опционов имелись также опционы, выполняющие обязанности административного характера. К примеру, опцион по больным (optio valetudinarii), корабельный опцион (optio navaliorum), опцион стражников (optio custodiarum) и т. д.

В обязанности опционов входило ведение документов, тренировка солдат, а также наблюдение за порядком в легионе в целом и в строю при боевых столкновениях.

Опцион, реконструкция

Схожие темы

Центурион, Легионер, Витис

Галерея

Нагробная стелла неизвестного опциона, который должен был быть повышен до центуриона, но погиб в кораблекрушении. Честер.