LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Krupellary

Евсеенков А.С.

Attention! The text below was auto-translated from Russian. You can switch the site language to Russian to see the text in its original language or wait until it is fully translated.

Krupellarii, krupellarii (crupellarius) — the most heavily armed gladiator, whose armor consisted of lorica segmentata, manikas on both hands and high segmental greaves up to the thighs. The helmet was typical of ancient Roman gladiators — it completely covered the head and face and had only small slits for the eyes and mouth; externally, it vaguely resembles a medieval Topfhelm helmet. In terms of security, Krupellarii was superior not only to other gladiators of that time, but also to any ancient warrior in general. Completely covered in metal, it looks more like a medieval knight than a representative of the ancient era. Thus, the gladiator-krupellarius was practically invulnerable to the opponent. It is assumed that his weapons consisted of a scutum and a gladius, like a provocateur. The physical fitness level of the Krupellarii was very high: wearing heavy armor required great strength and endurance.

Very few references to krupellarii have been found, and it is assumed that this type of gladiator was not widely used in antiquity, perhaps due to the fact that among the spectators of gladiatorial fights, good protection and body closeness were unpopular. Only two sources of information about such warriors have survived to this day: a bronze statuette and a mention in the Annals of the Roman historian Tacitus.

Tacitus writes that the Krupellarii were recruited from Gaulish slaves, equipped in the tradition of gladiator warriors of Lugdunian Gaul, who took part in the Treverian revolt led by Julius Florus and Julius Sacrovir in 21 AD during the reign of the Emperor Tiberius. The reason was the high debts of the local Gauls, which they did not want to pay. Among the Aedui who rebelled, Tacitus mentions heavily defended Gallic gladiators called Croupellarii. The decisive battle between the Aedui and the Roman army took place near Augustodunum (modern Autun in France). Sacrovir's main focus in his tactics was on the krupellarii-they were in the center in front, the rest of the rebels were located along and behind, covering the heavy gladiators. It was the Gallic gladiators-krupellarii-who put up the strongest resistance to the Romans, they were so invulnerable to weapons that the legionaries had to use axes and pickaxes that were not intended for direct combat:

"43. ... In total, it gathered forty thousand, of which one-fifth had weapons of the Roman model, and the rest had only slings, knives, etc. weapons used by hunters. To these was added a contingent of slaves destined for gladiatorial games, clad in heavy iron armor according to the custom of the tribe; the so-called krupellarii, they were little suitable for attack, but invulnerable to enemy strikes. … 46. ... The defeat of the Aedui was delayed a little by the men-at-arms, because their armor did not break through with spears or swords, however, the soldiers, seizing axes and picks, and as if they were breaking a wall, began to beat them on their carapaces, others with stakes and pitchforks knocked these heavy blocks to the ground, and they, as if dead, lay motionless on the ground, without any attempts to get up."- Annals III, 43; 46

In 1972-74, a bronze statuette was found in Versigny (Picardy region), originally designated by archaeologists as a figurine of an unknown warrior. It dates back to the time period coinciding with the revolt of the Gallic gladiators. It was later identified as a Croupellarius figurine — a heavily armored Gaul gladiator. Currently, the figurine is in the museum of La Fere, France.

Related topics

Gladiator, Lorica Segmentata, Manika

LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again

Крупелларий

Евсеенков А.С.

Крупелларий, крупеллярий (crupellarius) — самый тяжеловооруженный гладиатор, доспехи которого состояли из лорики сегментаты, маник на обеих руках и высоких сегментных поножей по самые бедра. Шлем был типичным для древнеримских гладиаторов — полностью закрывал голову лицо и имел только небольшие прорези для глаз и рта; внешне он отдалённо напоминает средневековый шлем типа "топфхельм". По степени защищённости крупелларий превосходил не только других гладиаторов того времени, но и в целом любого античного воина. Полностью покрытый металлом, он больше напоминает средневекового рыцаря, нежели представителя античной эпохи. Таким образом, гладиатор-крупелларий был практически неуязвимым для соперника. Предполагается, что его вооружение состояло из скутума и гладиуса, как у провокатора. Уровень физической подготовки крупеллариев был очень высок: ношение тяжёлого доспеха требовало огромной силы и выносливости.

Упоминаний о крупеллариях найдено крайне мало, предполагается, что такой тип гладиатора не был широко распространён в античности, возможно это связано с тем, что среди зрителей гладиаторских боёв хорошая защищённость и закрытость тела была непопулярна. До наших дней дошли только два источника сведений о таких воинах: бронзовая статуэтка и упоминание в «Анналах» римского историка Тацита.

Тацит пишет, что крупеллариев набирали из рабов-галлов, снаряжённых по традициям воинов-гладиаторов Лугдунской Галлии, которые приняли участие в восстании треверов под руководством Юлия Флора и Юлия Сакровира в 21 году н. э. во время правления императора Тиберия. Поводом послужили высокие долги местных галлов, которые те не желали платить. В числе восставших эдуев Тацит упоминает тяжело защищённых галльских гладиаторов, которые назывались крупеллариями. Решающая схватка эдуев с римским войском произошла вблизи Августодуна (современный Отён во Франции). Основную ставку Сакровир в своей тактике сделал на крупеллариев — они стали в центре впереди, остальные восставшие расположились вдоль и сзади, прикрывая тяжёлых гладиаторов. Именно галльские гладиаторы-крупелларии оказывали самое сильное сопротивление римлянам, они были настолько неуязвимы для оружия, что легионерам пришлось применить не предназначенные для прямого боя топоры и кирки:

" 43. … Всего в него собралось сорок тысяч, из которых одна пятая имела оружие римского образца, а у остальных были только пращи, ножи и т. д. вооружение, которым пользуются охотники. К ним был добавлен предназначенный для гладиаторских игр контингент рабов, по обычаю племени закованных в плотные железные латы; так называемые крупелларии, они были мало пригодны для нападения, зато неуязвимы для ударов врагов. … 46. … Разгром эдуев немного затянули латники, потому что их доспехи не пробивались ни копьями, ни мечами, впрочем, воины, схватив топоры и кирки, и как будто они ломали стену, начали бить ими по панцирям, другие с помощью кольев и вил сваливали эти тяжелые глыбы на землю, и они, как мертвые, неподвижно лежали на земле, без каких-либо попыток подняться." — Анналы III, 43; 46

В 1972-74 гг. в Версиньи (регион Пикардия) была найдена бронзовая статуэтка, изначально обозначенная археологами как фигурка неизвестного воина. Датируется она временным периодом, совпадающим с восстанием галльских гладиаторов. Позднее её идентифицировали как фигурку крупеллария — тяжелобронированного гладиатора-галла. В настоящее время фигурка находится в музее города Ла-Фер, Франция.

Схожие темы

Гладиатор, Лорика Сегментата, Маника