LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Thracian

Евсеенков А.С.

Attention! The text below was auto-translated from Russian. You can switch the site language to Russian to see the text in its original language or wait until it is fully translated.

Thracian (Latin: thraex) — a gladiator armed with a shield and sword. Initially, this was the name of gladiators-natives of Thrace, then the name spread to a whole type of gladiator and a set of its weapons, regardless of the origin of the fighter.

Gladiator fights in Ancient Rome were insanely popular, and there were so many varieties of gladiators that there was a whole classification according to the type of weapons, combat tactics and rules of duels. The Thracians were equipped as follows: they had a subligaculum, a balteus, a manica, a large helmet with a crest and a griffin at the end covering the entire head including the face (the griffin was a symbol of the Nemesis goddess of retribution), a small shield, often a much shortened scutum or parma, and two large greaves. Their weapon was a gladius or small Thracian curved sword — sika, which was a treacherous weapon, because it allowed you to unexpectedly cut the weakly protected back parts of your arms and legs, as well as bypass the opponent's shield with blows. Many historians consider Thracians and Secutors to be a subspecies of Murmillon. The most frequent opponents in the arena for them were murmillons, hoplomakhs, provocateurs, retiarii or secutors.

Bas-relief with a Thracian. Found in Ephesus. Ephesus Museum. Turkey. 1-3 century AD
Oil lamp with Thracian. Romano-Germanic Museum, Cologne, 1st-2nd century AD
Mosaic with Thracian in decorated Balthea. Saint-Rémi Museum, Reims, France. 2-3 century AD

Spartak

The most famous gladiator was the leader of the uprising Spartak. According to one version, he was of Thracian origin and at some point deserted from the Roman army-perhaps because of a quarrel with the command and defecting to the side of his fellow tribesmen during the Thracian wars of Rome. If Gabba is right, and Spartacus deserted Sulla's army in Italy, then he should have gone over to the Marian side and could have led a cavalry unit that waged a "minor war"against the Sullanians. It was at this stage of his life that he had the opportunity to learn the Roman language and Italian methods of warfare very well. After being captured, for some unknown reason, he was not crucified or given to be torn to pieces by animals in the circus arena, as was usually done with defectors and robbers, but was turned into slavery.

Spartacus was sold at least three times, and it is known that the first sale took place in Rome. Vladimir Goroncharovsky suggested that Spartacus became a gladiator at the age of about thirty, that is, quite late. At the beginning of his career, Spartacus could play the role of murmillon, then quickly retrained into the type of gladiator characteristic of his nationality-Thracian. Over time, Spartacus, distinguished for his strength and bravery, became one of the best gladiators in the school of Gnaeus Cornelius Lentulus Batiatus in Capua. Spartacus ' privileged position is indicated by the fact that he had a wife, so he was given a separate room, which was rare for gladiators. There is no information about whether Spartacus was a rudiarius, that is, whether he received a wooden sword as a symbol of freedom.

Spartacus ' gladiatorial career was ended after his rebellion in 73 BC.

Equivocation

Thracian Equipment:

Traditionally, gladiators fought on sand, but when reconstructing the battle on a hard surface, it is recommended to use authentic shoes, such as kaligs.

Related topics

Gladiator, Helmet, Manika, Okrea, Balteus, Subligaculum, Gladius, Full name, Murmillon, Retiary, Secutor, Hoplomakh

Gallery

Bas-relief with a Thracian. Found in Ephesus. Ephesus Museum. Turkey. 1-3 century AD
Terracotta figurines of Thracian and Murmillon, 1-2 century AD.
Oil lamp with a gladiator duel. 1-2 century AD
Tombstone stele of a Thracian gladiator. Grey marble. Inv. № Ma 4492 (MND 711). Paris, Louvre Museum. 3rd century AD
Bas-relief with a Thracian. Found in Ephesus. Antalya Museum. Inv. no. 715. 1-3 century AD
Sketch from the bas-relief of the Thracian gladiator Marcus Antonius Exochus. Early 2nd century AD
Statuette of a Thracian, 150-200 AD, online auction, http://ancientpoint.com, ID 120974.
Thracian, 1-2 century AD, 135 mm with stand, bronze. British Museum, London.
Thracian, 1-2 century BC, 96 mm, bronze. British Museum, London.
Thracian, 1-2 century AD, 90 mm, copper alloy. British Museum, London.
Bronze statuette of a gladiator, presumably Thracian. Egypt. 1-2 century AD
Fragment of an oil lamp with gladiators. 1-2 century AD
Bas-relief with a Thracian. Found in Smyrna (Izmir). National Museum of Antiquities, Leiden, Netherlands. 3rd century AD
Fragment of a fresco from Pompeii. Mid-1st century AD
Image of a Thracian on an oil lamp. 50-150 AD
Bronze statuette with a Thracian. 1-2 century AD

LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again

Фракиец

Евсеенков А.С.

Фракиец (лат. thraex) — гладиатор, вооружённый щитом и мечом. Первоначально так назывались гладиаторы-выходцы из Фракии, затем название распространилось на целый тип гладиатора и комплект его вооружения вне зависимости от происхождения бойца.

Гладиаторские бои в Древнем Риме были безумно популярны, и разновидностей гладиаторов было так много, что существовала целая классификация по типу вооружения, тактике боя и правилам поединков. Фракийцы экипировались следующим образом: они имели сублигакулум, балтеус, манику, большой шлем с гребнем и грифоном на конце, закрывающий всю голову включая лицо (грифон был символом богини возмездия Немезиды), небольшой щит, часто представляющий собой сильно укороченный скутум или парму, и два больших поножа. Их оружием был гладиус или небольшой фракийский кривой меч — сика, который был коварным оружием, поскольку позволял неожиданно подрезать слабо защищённые обратные части рук и ног, а также обходить ударами щит оппонента. Многие историки считают фракийцев и секуторов подвидом мурмиллона. Наиболее частыми противниками на арене для них были мурмиллоны, гопломахи, провокаторы, ретиарии или секуторы.

Барельеф с фракийцем. Найдено в Эфесе. Музей Эфеса. Турция. 1-3 век н.э.
Масляная лампа с фракийцем. Римско-Германский музей, Cologne. 1-2 век н.э.
Мозаика с фракийцем в украшенном балтее. Музей Saint-Rémi, Reims, France. 2-3 век н.э.

Спартак

Наиболее знаменитым гладиатором стал лидер восстания Спартак. По одной из версий он был фракийцем по происхождению и в какой-то момент дезертировал из римской армии — возможно, из-за ссоры с командованием и перехода на сторону соплеменников во время фракийских войн Рима. Если прав Габба, и Спартак дезертировал из армии Суллы в Италии, то он должен был перейти на сторону марианцев и мог возглавить конный отряд, который вёл против сулланцев «малую войну». Именно на этом жизненном этапе у него была возможность хорошо изучить римский язык и италийские способы ведения войны. После попадания в плен он по неизвестной причине не был распят или отдан на растерзание зверям на арене цирка, как обычно поступали с перебежчиками и разбойниками, а был обращён в рабство.

Спартака продавали как минимум три раза, причём известно, что первая продажа состоялась в Риме. Владимир Горончаровский предположил, что Спартак стал гладиатором в возрасте примерно тридцати лет, то есть достаточно поздно. В начале своей карьеры Спартак мог выступать в роли мурмиллона, затем быстро переквалифицировался в тип гладиатора, характерный для его национальности — фракийца. Со временем Спартак, отличившийся силой и отвагой, стал одним из лучших гладиаторов в школе Гнея Корнелия Лентула Батиата в Капуе. О привилегированном положении Спартака говорит нам то, что у него была жена, следовательно, ему предоставляли отдельную комнату, что было редкостью для гладиаторов. Не сохранилось информации о том, был ли Спартак рудиарием, то есть получал ли он деревянный меч как символ свободы.

Гладиаторская карьера Спартака была завершена после его восстания в 73 году до н. э.

Экивировка

Экипировка фракийца:

Традиционно гладиаторы сражались на песке, однако при реконструкции боя на твёрдой поверхности рекомендуется использовать аутентичную обувь, например калиги.

Схожие темы

Гладиатор, Шлем, Маника, Окреа, Балтеус, Сублигакулум, Гладиус, Пугио, Мурмиллон, Ретиарий, Секутор, Гопломах

Галерея

Барельеф с фракийцем. Найдено в Эфесе. Музей Эфеса. Турция. 1-3 век н.э.
Терракотовые статуэтки фракийца и мурмиллона, 1-2 век н.э.
Масляная лампа с поединком гладиаторов. 1-2 век н.э.
Надгробная стела гладиатора-фракийца. Серый мрамор. Инв. № Ma 4492 (MND 711). Париж, Лувр. 3-ий век н.э.
Барельеф с фракийцем. Найдено в Эфесе. Музей Анталии. Инв.№ 715. 1-3 век н.э.
Зарисовка с барельефа гладиатора-фракийца Marcus Antonius Exochus. Начало 2-го века н.э.
Статуэтка фракийца, 150-200 года н.э, интернет аукцион, http://ancientpoint.com, ID 120974.
Фракиец, 1-2 век н.э., 135 мм с подставкой, бронза. Британский музей, Лондон.
Фракиец, 1-2 век до н.э., 96 мм, бронза. Британский музей, Лондон.
Фракиец, 1-2 век н.э., 90 мм, медный сплав. Британский музей, Лондон.
Бронзовая статуэтка гладиатора, предположительно фракийца. Египет. 1-2 век н.э.
Фрагмент масляной лампы с гладиаторами. 1-2 век н.э.
Барельеф с фракийцем. Найден в Smyrna (İzmir). Национальный музей древностей, Лейден, Нидерланды. 3-ий век н.э.
Фрагмент фрески из Помпей. Середина 1-го века н.э.
Изображение фракийца на масляной лампе. 50-150 года н.э.
Бронзовая статуэтка с фракийцем. 1-2 век н.э.