LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

The Dominate-era Roman military

Тукеев П.Д.

The Dominate-era Roman military

Social and economical standing of soldiers

The sequence of military defeats, civil wars, crop failures, epidemics, and other upheavals known as the crisis of the third century had a major impact on the entire Roman society, not least on the principle of recruitment, property, and social status of soldiers. At the very beginning of the third century CE emperor Caracalla granted the rights of Roman citizenship to all free residents of the state, effectively destroying the age-old segregation of Roman army into auxiliary cohorts (auxiliaries), where provincials willingly served for the rights of citizenship, and legions, whose service was much more profitable and prestigious, but was considered a privilege of Roman citizens. The reform of Caracalla removed the main motivation of service in the auxilia, so it ceased to exist in the form known in the time of the principate.

Formally, the military draft (dilectus) did exist in the era of the principate, but in fact the authorities resorted to it only occasionally, for example, before a major campaign of conquest or after heavy losses, as in the Marcomanian Wars. However, Rome at the end of the third and beginning of the fourth century needed a much larger army than in the old days, and the principle of voluntary service could not physically meet the needs of the military machine. The population has declined significantly due to the Antonine Plague, the Plague of Cyprian and a series of civil wars, and with it the number of volunteers willing to serve in the army has decreased. In addition, a series of defeats suffered by the Roman army in the third century CE, combined with a drop in the purchasing power of soldiers ' salaries made military service not very attractive in the eyes of the population. Therefore, the conscription came to the fore. Landowners were required to supply the army with a certain number of recruits, in proportion to the size and wealth of their land. In addition, since the reign of emperor Constantine, the sons of soldiers were also considered liable for military service, which made this service hereditary and provided a reliable source of recruits.

Strong regional differences of a huge and heterogeneous empire affected the results of conscription. In more peaceful and economically developed provinces, such as Italy, the recruits were marginals of the peasant lot or just vagabonds, whom landowners tried to send to the army instead of their own peasants. But the recruits from Gaul and Pannonia were famous for their high qualities until the collapse of the Western Roman Empire. Barbarians, settled to farm the Roman lands, ravaged in III century, were also subjected to conscription. Barbarians from outside the empire could also serve in the legions, but their percentage in units became significant only in the V century. As a result, the average level of recruits could be very, very different.

Military draft

However, even in the Dominate era military service meant a lot of benefits. All military personnel were provided with food and clothing (annona), and their salaries (stipendium) were paid in gold solidi - coins practically not subjected to inflation and thus having a reliable purchasing power. Salaries in solidi were a special privilege for military and civil servants of the state. In addition, military personnel received tax relief since the day of enrollment into service, and after five years soldiers received tax exemption for their wives (dominate-era soldiers were allowed to marry) and, depending on the status of the unit, for their parents. Given that a large proportion of retired soldiers became landowners, merchants or artisans, and the wives of soldiers often engaged in agriculture and crafts themselves, this tax exemptions encouraged people to send their sons and husbands to the army.

The turmoils of the third century created a possibilities for social mobility. The positions of high command were now held by people from the equestrian order, but competent and successful commoners also often reached the highest offices. The military reforms initiated by Diocletian and continued by Constantine created many officer positions, and rank and file from the common lot had every chance to become a centenary (Dominate-style centurion), and then eventually become a commander of an independent unit: legion, cavalry ala, palatine schola or auxiliary cohort. In addition, even at the rank and file level there were still profitable and promising positions, for example a standard bearer or campidoctor — drill instructor. Also, the specific privileges and size of a soldier's pay depended on the prestige and status of the army unit where he served. The reform of Caracalla and the army's need for new, unknown or previously rare combat arms, such as horse archers and armoured lancers, led to the fact that service in legions or vexillations could be less prestigious and profitable than in auxiliaries. In short, the age-old segregation of the army into elite legions of citizens and auxiliaries of provincials disappeared forever.

Dominate-era officer, reconstruction

Organization and equipment

Numerous foreign invasions, revolts, and civil wars of the third age moved legions and auxiliaries from century-old permanent home bases. Moreover, vexillations, independent formations consisting of 1-2 cohorts, were very often detached from parent legions. There were a number of reasons for this. First, the army might need reinforcements in one local area, but it had no sense to send an entire legion to help, exposing a large section of the border. Secondly, turned out that a detachment of 1-2 legionary cohorts with the support of auxiliary cohort or ala could act independently. By the end of the third century CE many of these vexillations had effectively become independent units of the Roman army, maintaining only a formal link with the parent legions from which they had been detached decades earlier. Thus, the typical legion or auxilia of IV century CE numbered around 1000-1200 infantrymen.

By the beginning of the IV century CE the armament and equipment of the Roman troops had changed significantly. The need to maintain a much larger army than in the days of the principate, and with fewer resources (up to 1/4 of roman state's income used to came from the Indian ocean sea trade, now hampered by the Sassanids), led to the simplification of some elements of defensive weapons. The helmets acquired a simpler design, in obvious imitation of the Persian ones, the lorica segmentata fell out of use, being replaced by a long-sleeved and long-hemmed chainmail or scalemail However, at the same time, the scutum was replaced by a round or oval shield of a lenticular profile, more difficult to manufacture. The hasta became the main melee weapon, the gladius was replaced by the spatha, which was longer and more difficult to produce. The first-rankers, according to Vegetius, also wore greaves. Infantrymen could still use pilums (somewhat simplified design, in some sources called spiculum), lighter darts-lanceas, or plumbatae — a meter long darts weighted with lead.

The clear distinction in tactics and equipment of the legions and auxiliaries, so characteristic for the principate, also disappears by the beginning of the IV century. For example, considering infantry, all infantry units, be it legions, auxiliaries or scholas, could consist of hastati, lancearii and sagittarii. It is worth noting that the Dominate era is characterized by a high degree of military equipment unification of different troop types. For example, a set of spearmen (hastatus) turns into the archer (sagittarius) set by replacing the shield and spear with a bow and quiver with arrows, all other items remain unchanged. Adding greaves and a horse with harness turns a foot archer into a horse archer. Replacing the spear with javelins turns the spearman into a skirmisher (lancearius). The Dominate-era reenactment's appeal is the ability to create a lot of sets mostly using the same items.

The Dominate-era hastatus, reenactment
Dominate-era sagittarius, reconstruction
Dominate-era lancearius, reenactment

According to Vegetius, the Roman infantry formation of his era consisted of six ranks. The first, second, third and sixth were hastati, the fourth and fifth were lancearii and sagittarii. The increase of both the number and combat abilities of a Roman cavalry, separated into independent units in III century CE, made possible to assign all maneuvers on the battlefield that required initiative and mobility to cavalry units. Roman infantry mostly fought defensively, meeting the enemy's attack with a hail of arrows and javelins, and then deflecting it with the wall of shields and spears. Units of cavalry and artillery with their crews were attached to the infantry when needed.

Dominate-era roman infantry in battle

Romans take on Goths

Conclusion

The tactics, armament and organization of the Roman troops, described above, were adequate for their time, as evidenced by the numerous Roman victories in battles and wars of the IV century. By the middle of the V century, however, the economic and social decline of Western Rome bereft her army of supply and motivation to serve, which was one of the reasons for her collapse. Eastern Rome, on the other hand, preserved the legacy of the Roman military until the theme reform of the VI century.

Alamannic chiftain Honodomarius surrenders to Caesar Julianus after battle at Argentoratum.

The Roman army of the Dominate era included quite a lot of combat arms, perhaps more than ever before in its history. In addition to aforementioned spearmen and archers late Roman army included:

And many more!

Related topics

Dominate, Fall of the Western Roman Empire, Dominate-era hastati, Dominate-era sagittarii, Dominate-era lancearii, Late Roman Empire

Literature

1) The Roman Army in the IV century. From Constantine to Theodosius. A.V. Bannikov

2) Armies of the Late Roman Empire. AD 284 to 476. History, Organization and Equipment. G. Esposito

3) De Re Militari. Publius Flavius Vegetius Renatus

4) Rerum Gestarum. Ammianus Marcellinus

5) The Fate of Rome: Climate, Disease, and the End of an Empire, Kyle Harper

6) The Roman Empire and the Indian Ocean: Rome’s Dealings with the Ancient Kingdoms of India, Africa and Arabia, Raoul McLaughlin

Gallery

Mounted Imperial Bodyguard from the Schola Scutariorum
Light mounted skirmisher
Clibanarii
Slinger
Horse archer

LEG X FRET
Make Roma Great Again
ru | en

Солдаты Римской Империи эпохи домината

Тукеев П.Д.

Солдат Римской Империи эпохи домината

Имущественный и социальный статус военных

Череда военных поражений, гражданских войн, неурожаев, эпидемий и других потрясений, известных как кризис третьего века, оказали серьезнейшее влияние на всё римское общество, и не в последнюю очередь - на принцип набора, имущественный и общественный статус солдат. В самом начале III в. н.э. император Каракалла наделил правами римского гражданства всех свободных жителей государства, чем фактически уничтожил вековое разделение римской армии на вспомогательные когорты (ауксилии), где охотно служили провинциалы ради вожделенных прав гражданства, и легионы, служба в которых была гораздо выгоднее и престижнее, но считалась привилегией римских граждан. Реформа Каракаллы же устранила основную мотивацию службы в ауксилии, и та перестала существовать в форме, известной во времена принципата.

Формально призыв (dilectus) существовал и в эпоху принципата, но фактически власти прибегали к нему лишь в считанных случаях, например, перед крупной завоевательной кампанией или после тяжелых потерь, как в Маркоманские войны. Однако Риму конца III - началу IV века потребовалась гораздо более крупная армия, нежели в былые времена, и принцип добровольной службы физически не мог удовлетворить нужды военной машины. Численность населения значительно снизилась из-за чумы Антонинов и череды гражданских войн, а с ней уменьшилось и число добровольцев, готовых служить в армии. Кроме того, череда поражений, понесенных римлянами в III веке н.э. в сочетании с падением покупательной способности солдатского жалования делали военную службу не слишком привлекательной в глазах населения. Поэтому на первый план вышел призыв, или конскрипция. Землевладельцев обязали поставлять армии определенное число рекрутов, пропорционально размеру и богатству их земельных угодий. Кроме того, начиная со времен императора Константина, сыновья военных также считались военнообязанными, что делало военную службу наследственной и служило исправным источником рекрутов. И тут сказывались региональные различия огромной и неоднородной империи. В более мирных и экономически развитых провинциях, типа Италии, рекрутами становились маргиналы крестьянской среды и просто бродяги, которых землевладельцы норовили подсунуть вместо собственных крестьян. Зато рекруты из Галлии и Паннонии славились своими высокими качествами вплоть до распада Западной Римской империи. Также призыву подлежали варвары, переселенные возделывать земли империи, опустошенные в ходе III в. В войсках могли служить и варвары извне империи, но их процент стал значительным лишь в V веке. В итоге средний уровень рекрутов мог быть очень и очень разным.

Военный призыв

Однако и во времена домината солдатская служба несла в себе немало выгод. Все военные получали довольствие натуральными продуктами и одеждой (annona), а жалование (stipendium) им платили в золотых солидах - монетах, практически не подверженных инфляции и обладавших надежной покупательной способностью. Жалование в солидах было особой привилегией военных и гражданских служащих государства. Вдобавок к этому военные получали освобождение от налогов в момент поступления на службу, через пять лет службы от налогов освобождались их жены (солдатам домината было разрешено жениться) и, в зависимости от престижности воинской части, родители. Учитывая, что немалая доля отставных военных становилась хозяевами земельных угодий, купцами или ремесленниками, а жены солдат нередко сами занимались сельским хозяйством и ремеслом, это создавало дополнительный стимул отдавать в армию сыновей и мужей.

Бурные перипетии третьего века открыли множество социальных лифтов. Высшие офицерские посты теперь занимали выходцы из сословия всадников, однако компетентные и удачливые простолюдины также нередко достигали самых высоких постов. Военные реформы, начатые Диоклетианом и продолженные Константином, создали множество новых офицерских должностей, и рядовой солдат из простолюдинов имел все шансы стать центенарием (аналогом центуриона), а затем уйти на повышение и в перспективе занять должность командира отдельной части римской армии, будь то легион, кавалерийская ала или ауксилия. Кроме того, даже на низовом уровне оставались выгодные и перспективные должности, например, в знаменной группе или кампидокторах — унтер-офицерах, ответственных за обучение солдат. Также конкретные привилегии и размер довольствия солдата зависел от престижа и статуса армейской части, где он служил. Реформа Каракаллы и потребность армии в новых, неизвестных либо малораспространенных ранее родах войск, типа конных лучников и сверхтяжелой конницы, привели к тому, что служба в легионах могла быть менее престижной и выгодной, чем в ауксилиях. Словом, вековое разделение армии на элитные легионы из граждан и ауксилии из провинциалов исчезло навсегда.

Офицер эпохи домината, реконструкция

Структура и вооружение

Многочисленными внешние вторжения, восстания и гражданские войны третьего века стронули легионы и ауксилии с веками насиженных мест постоянной дислокации. Более того, очень часто из состава легиона выделялись вексилляции (vexillationes), самостоятельные соединения в 1-2 когорты. На то был целый ряд причин. Во-первых, армии на одном участке могло потребоваться подкрепление, но отправлять ей целый легион, оголяя немалый участок границы, не имело смысла. Во-вторых, практика показала, что соединение в 1-2 когорты легионеров при поддержке ауксилии вполне может действовать независимо и выполнять самостоятельные боевые задачи. К концу III века н.э. многие такие вексилляции фактически превратились в самостоятельные части римской армии, сохранявшие лишь формальную связь с легионами, откуда их выделили десятилетия тому назад. Таким образом, к IV в. н.э. типичный легион или ауксилия насчитывали около 1000-1200 пехотинцев.

К началу IV в. н.э. вооружение и снаряжение легионов значительно изменилось. Необходимость содержать значительно более крупную армию, чем во времена принципата, да ещё и при меньших ресурсах, привела к упрощению некоторых элементов защитного вооружения. Шлема приобрели более простую конструкцию, в явном подражании персидским, лорика сегментата вышла из употребления, сменившись длиннорукавной и длиннополой кольчугой или чешуйчатой броней. Однако вместе с тем скутум сменился круглым или овальным щитом линзовидного профиля, более сложным в изготовлении. Главным оружием ближнего боя стала гаста, гладий сменился спатой, более длинной и сложной в производстве. Бойцы первых шеренг, согласно Вегецию, носили и поножи. Легионеры по-прежнему могли применять пилумы (несколько упрощенной конструкции, в некоторых источниках получившие имя спикулум), более легкие дротики-ланцеи, или плюмбаты – полуметровой длины дротики, утяжеленные свинцом.

Четкая разница в тактике и снаряжении легионов и ауксилий, характерная для принципата, также сходит на нет к началу IV века. Например, если рассматривать пехоту, то и в легионах, и в пеших ауксилиях или схолах могли служить гастаты, ланцеарии и сагиттарии. Стоит отметить, что для домината характерна высокая степень унификации элементов снаряжения разных родов войск. Так, комплект строевого копейщика (hastatus) превращается в комплект лучника (sagittarius) заменой щита и копья на лук и колчан со стрелами, все остальные элементы экипировки остаются без изменений. Добавление поножей и коня со сбруей превращает пешего лучника в конного. Замена копья на дротики же превращает копейщика в застрельщика (lancearius). Таким образом реконструкция эпохи домината хороша тем, что позволяет создавать множество образов без необходимости изготавливать большую часть элементов комплекта заново.

Гастат эпохи домината, реконструкция
Сагиттарий эпохи домината, реконструкция
Ланцеарий эпохи домината, реконструкция

Согласно Вегецию, римская пехота строилась в 6 шеренг. Первую, вторую, третью и шестую составляли гастаты, четвертую и пятую — ланцеарии и сагиттарии. Кардинально возросшие в III веке численность и боеспособность римской кавалерии, выделенной из состава легионов и ауксилий в самостоятельные армейские части, позволили возложить на нее все маневры на поле боя, требовавшие инициативы и подвижности. Римская пехота чаще всего сражалась в оборонительном порядке, встречая атаку врага градом стрел и дротиков, а затем принимая ее на стену щитов и копий. Части кавалерии и метательных орудий со своими расчетами придавались пехоте по мере необходимости.

Римская пехота времён домината в бою

Бой римлян с готами

Заключение

Описанные выше тактика, вооружение и организация римских войск вполне отвечали запросам своего времени, о чем свидетельствуют многочисленные победы римлян в сражениях и войнах IV века. К середине V века, однако, экономический и общественный упадок Западного Рима лишил его армию ресурсов и мотивации сражаться, что послужило одной из причин его распада. Восточный же Рим сохранил и преумножал наследие римских войск вплоть до фемной реформы VI века.

Вождь аламаннов Хонодомарий сдается цезарю Юлиану после битвы при Аргенторате. Художник — Винсент Флорент

Римская армия эпохи домината включала в себя довольно много родов войск, пожалуй, больше, чем когда-либо прежде в своей истории. Помимо уже упомянутых копейщиков-гастатов и лучников-сагиттариев римские войска включали в себя:

И многих других.

Схожие темы

Доминат, Падение Западной Римской Империи, Гастат эпохи домината, Сагиттарий эпохи домината, Ланцеарий эпохи домината, Поздняя Римская Империя

Литература

1) Римская армия в IV веке. От Константина до Феодосия. А.В. Банников

2) Armies of the Late Roman Empire. AD 284 to 476. History, Organization and Equipment. G. Esposito

3) De Re Militari, Публий Флавий Вегеций Ренат

4) Rerum Gestarum, Аммиан Марцеллин

Галерея

Конный императорский телохранитель из Схолы Скутариорум
Легкий конный застрельщик
Клибанарии
Пращник
Конный лучник